Network problem Panther/Linux

Discussion in 'Mac OS X 10.3 (Panther) Discussion' started by twentyfour, Nov 17, 2003.

1. twentyfour macrumors newbie

I have a problem connecting to my Linux (RedHat) server from Panther. I am using Cmd-K to connect, it will recognize my server, even show my shares there, then connect and disconnect a second later. Sometimes it shows an Alias on both desktop and sidebar of the finder.

I have been using smb://... and afp://... to connect. Both won't work. Apple Talk is activated.

Funny thing: It all works fine from OSX 10.2.6.

The only thing that helps is to start classic and connect through the chooser or network utility - that works fine and once I have done that, I can even quit Classic, it will keep the connection on the OSX finder.

I am reading all these articles about how easy it is to connect to a server from OSX. Ha ha.

Anyone out there more expert than me (frankly, I'm not at all, I am a designer and I feel pretty stupid with all this system stuff)?

2. Nik_Doof macrumors regular

with samba make sure ur using a correct username/password for the server, if samba is setup to use PAM and /etc/passwd, just try ur username as root and ur root password...if that works its just a matter of adding a user.

Check out the O'rielly samba books and the howtos on the internet, they are very good :)

3. daveL macrumors 68020

daveL

NFS?

Why not use NFS? Seems weird to use a MS protocol to share file systems between two varieties of Unix.

4. twentyfour thread starter macrumors newbie

OK, let me point out the real problem once again.

I HAVE been using our Linux server for quite a while now, with both OS 9.x and OSX 10.2.x. No problem, very stabil. We have been using AFP protocoll, but SMB also works (slower and some limitations apply when ich comes to file names etc.).