Network Question

Discussion in 'Macintosh Computers' started by iEric, Oct 25, 2003.

  1. iEric macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2003
    Location:
    Vancouver
    #1
    I'm on my Powermac right now and I have a Airport Extreme base and card, and I also have a router which I am also connected to. Which one does the powermac use?: the Airport card or the built-in ethernet??
     
  2. Doctor Q Administrator

    Doctor Q

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2002
    Location:
    Los Angeles
    #2
    Do you have an Ethernet cable running from the Power Mac to the router? If so, it sounds like you can use the built-in Ethernet port for Internet access and that you don't need to use the Airport at all. Are there other Macs that will share this same router for Internet access?
     
  3. iEric thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2003
    Location:
    Vancouver
    #3
    Okay well..the Apple Airport Card was built in...But I left it on beceause i print via the airport extreme base...but i'm wondering...When the Airport is on, and I am also connected to the internet via Ethernet, which one does it uses??


    ALSO!!!!:
    I have the airport extreme connected to the router...now my powerbook's airport won't work...anybody know why?
     
  4. Doctor Q Administrator

    Doctor Q

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2002
    Location:
    Los Angeles
    #4
    In Jaguar (are you using Panther instead?), in the Network pane of System Preferences, the Show: drop-down menu lets you pick Network Port Configurations, where you can put your network configurations in the order you want them tried when connecting to a network. That's also where you define new network configurations. Do you have one for the Built-in Ethernet and one for the AirPort interface?
     
  5. Lanbrown macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2003
    #5
    Look at what your default gateway is set too. You can also do a tracert to see which gateway you go to as well.
     

Share This Page