Network sharing

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by lexus, Aug 13, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. lexus macrumors 68000

    lexus

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2006
    Location:
    Depends Greatly On The Weather
    #1
    I use a network which is PC only, it uses scripts etc and I use it on a windows partition on my MacBook. So basically what I need is to be able to retransmit that network signal to my MBP so I can use OS X. It is not possible to just login to the network from my Mac.

    Thanks alot

    P.S. If it is any help it is one of those networks which you have to press ctrl alt delete to get on to.
     
  2. thewhitehart macrumors 6502a

    thewhitehart

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2005
    Location:
    The town without George Bailey
    #2
    Do you mean an Active Directory network where you join a domain? I'm not so sure what you mean about redirecting the signal to the mac; is it a wireless network? How are you physically connected to the network?

    I bring my ibook to work, where I login to a windows domain to "join" the network. I find that my ibook auto-detects the different windows domains and workgroups in the 'Network' section of Finder. When I try to connect to the many computers and shared resources, a dialogue box pops up asking me for a username and password to access SMB/CIFS shared resources. I just type in the same username and password I use for Active Directory (to log into the windows network), and OS X mounts the shared resource on my Tiger desktop.

    Ironically, I find that OS X detects more workgroups and shared computers through the Finder than Windows does in Network Neighborhood.
     
  3. lexus thread starter macrumors 68000

    lexus

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2006
    Location:
    Depends Greatly On The Weather
    #3
    It is a wireless network which i have to login to a special account in windows to use.
     
  4. thewhitehart macrumors 6502a

    thewhitehart

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2005
    Location:
    The town without George Bailey
    #4
    Does the network SSID show up in Airport on the mac? When you sign onto the network in windows, does it first direct you to a special web page? Do you use a windows VPN client to get on the network?
     
  5. lexus thread starter macrumors 68000

    lexus

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2006
    Location:
    Depends Greatly On The Weather
    #5
    The SSID does show up on a mac but very weak, on the PC it is full strength. I dont think it uses a vpn client.
     
  6. mkrishnan Moderator emeritus

    mkrishnan

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2004
    Location:
    Grand Rapids, MI, USA
    #6
    I started writing this reply in your thread about the quality of MR, but it really belongs here....

    If you want help with this problem, you have to give more details. Not that many of us are Windows experts. I've used Windows since 3.1, and I think I understand what you're talking about, but you have to provide an adequate level of technical detail in response to the questions people asked in order for them to help you.

    Specifically, to what are you binding when you login to Windows in the "special" account? Is it an LDAP server? Is it a Novell Groupwise server? Who "owns" it? Are they willing or unwilling to have you access this network via your Mac?

    I'm not sure if helping you is even possible. I wouldn't assume it is -- the system on the Windows side is specifically designed to prevent unauthorized accounts from accessing the network. Which is exactly what you're trying to do. You're not *supposed* to be able to get what you want.
     
  7. lexus thread starter macrumors 68000

    lexus

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2006
    Location:
    Depends Greatly On The Weather
    #7
    I am not too technical with windows how could i find out this technical information?

    Thanks
     
  8. mkrishnan Moderator emeritus

    mkrishnan

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2004
    Location:
    Grand Rapids, MI, USA
    #8
    Start with the non-technical information I asked for: who owns this network? ;)
     
  9. lexus thread starter macrumors 68000

    lexus

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2006
    Location:
    Depends Greatly On The Weather
    #9
    A very useless it department belonging to a medium sized company.
     
  10. mkrishnan Moderator emeritus

    mkrishnan

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2004
    Location:
    Grand Rapids, MI, USA
    #10
    Do you have administrative rights to company computers? If you do, you might be able to set up the equivalent of OS X network sharing on a Windows box and get on via that.

    Otherwise, I'm guessing that unless you can get IT to help you, you're SOL. Sorry....
     
  11. Doctor Q Administrator

    Doctor Q

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2002
    Location:
    Los Angeles
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page