Networking a (G4 os 10.3) to a Windows PC

Discussion in 'General Mac Discussion' started by selfemployed, Dec 19, 2003.

  1. selfemployed macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2003
    Location:
    Texas
    #1
    Would someone tell me the fastest application to network my G4 (10.03) to Windows XP Professional PIII700. I am thinking Firewire but since I have never used this feature I am not sure. I already own a hub so I could go that route but I had someone say the firewire would be faster and easier. The PC does not have firewire so I will have to buy an adaptor. Also, can any of you speak to your experiences with the Isight. It sounds like a great piece of equipment as long as the other party has one but what are the options when the other party is PC? Thanks for any help.
     
  2. Tim Flynn macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2003
    Location:
    Alberta
    #2
    Plug Mac into ethernet hub (or switch), plug PC into hub. Goto the finder, network, pick workgroup (I think, not at my Panther machine) find the XP machine, login...
    very simple.
    You may even be able to directly connect the Mac and PC with or without a crossover cable.

    Jaguar will also connect to the PC easily as well.
     
  3. Muskie macrumors 6502

    Muskie

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2003
    Location:
    Minneapolis
    #3
    My friends an I had a LAN party a while ago, and we tried something similar to that, minus the loggin in, cause I don't think thats neccessary for palying games (but I guess that could have been our problem). It didn't work. All my friends have windows machines and I have a mac. We used to LAN all the time, with no problems. But then I got my new G4, which came with airport. So we set up with my new computer, and it didn't work. Most of the time, everyone at least got internet access, our computers wouldnt recognize eachother to play LAN games, and the windows machines could file share. It was really dissapointing, since this was the first time we had 4 instead of three people, and I finally had the best computer :D I was just wondering if anyone knew what we did wrong.
     
  4. esternullo macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2003
    Location:
    Detroit
    #4
    i use a wireless router to link 2 macs and 3 peecee's, and the network works just fine...

    havn't tried to play games on it though, just internet access, file and print sharing...
     
  5. Muskie macrumors 6502

    Muskie

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2003
    Location:
    Minneapolis
    #5
    How'd you do it? I would like to compare. Also, I noticed you just said wireless, not Airport, might that matter?
     

Share This Page