Networking "Fix Alias??"

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by Portnoy, Aug 23, 2005.

  1. Portnoy macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2005
    #1
    Greetings I am a brand new MAC user.
    My pal gave me a G4 and I have immediately begun connecting it to my Windows Server 2003 network. I have installed Tiger OSX (boy THAT was easy...no sarcasm)

    Question #1

    I have followed edseignuk's "GUIDE: Networking Windows with OS X". Very helpful.

    Coming from a windows administration background, some of my questions may be irrelevant or silly. Please be kind.

    I added a user to my active directory (MS Server 2003) and then connected the MAC to the domain following edesignuk's guide:
    Applications->Utilities-> Directory Access-> added the MAC to the workgroup under SMB/CIFS
    ALSO
    I added the MAC to the Domain via Active Directory.
    Easy as pie.

    BUT

    When I go into Network and motor on over to the domain I get the " FIx Alias or Delete Alias" Error Message??

    Also under MY Network Neighbourhood on the Server, The MAC does not show up.
    I can ping it and it is getting it's IP address from my server (smart little cookie) It can even see my printer.
    I am SO close and it is SO easy.

    Any ideas?

    Question #2
    How do I add users to the MAC so that they are Administrator of their MAC and add other users that have very basic "rights" on the machine?
     
  2. mad jew Moderator emeritus

    mad jew

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2004
    Location:
    Adelaide, Australia
    #2
    1. Maybe try connecting manually to Windows. This means going to "Connect to Server" form the Go menu in the Finder and typing in smb://(Windows' IP address or Server name) from memory. I usually get more luck this way. And then save the connection so you can just double click on it next time rather than typing it all in again. Although, I usually find that if I make the connection once, I can just go to the Network section of the Finder and double click on the icon subsequent times.

    2. Are you wanting to add users? This can be done from the System Preferences under the Accounts icon. Assuming it's not locked (which it probably is and means you'll have to click the padlock and put in your password) then you just click the little plus sign down in the bottom left hand corner and go from there. :)

    Oh, and MAC is a networking acronym whereas Mac is an Apple product, just to save confusion.
     
  3. Portnoy thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2005
    #3
    Thanks madjew.

    I will look into the go->smb://

    I have a question? What is smb? I want this Mac to be part of a windows Domain. In the SMB configuration, it appears that I am creating a workgroup. In windows, the PC must be one OR the other not both.

    :)
     
  4. mad jew Moderator emeritus

    mad jew

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2004
    Location:
    Adelaide, Australia
    #4
    I don't know much about SMB but according to Wikipedia's SMB page it's just a network protocol. I'm not sure about the "PC must be one or the other" thing, but maybe the link will answer your questions. :)
     
  5. Portnoy thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2005
  6. mad jew Moderator emeritus

    mad jew

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2004
    Location:
    Adelaide, Australia
  7. Portnoy thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2005
    #7
    OK I tried the smb://Server_name

    I brought up an SMB/CIFS File System Authentication
    DOMAIN : My_DOMAIN
    USER: MY_USER
    PASSWORD: xxxxxxxx

    When i hit enter it would not take it. Said it failed. I have the user on the Active dirtectory and on the Mac (small case not a nic). NO luck.

    I can ping the Mac from the server.
    I can oing the server from the Mac.
    The Server 2003 is DHCP and successfully leases the IP to the Mac.

    I just cannot see the folders on the Server or the Mac from the Server?

    Weird.
    Any help is good help
     
  8. yellow Moderator emeritus

    yellow

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2003
    Location:
    Portland, OR
    #8
    #1 is a collosal pain in the @$$. And it's totally random. On some boxes the aliases always work, some never work.

    I finally just wrote and AppleScript and compiled it like an app (and gave it a shiney icon) for my users to connect to the SMB shares.

    You might have to specify a particular directory/share that you have access to. The general one might not work if you don't have access normally.

    smb://ad.domain.server/share_name/share_folder
     
  9. Portnoy thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2005
    #9
    Hi Yellow,

    Thanks for getting involved.

    Just a question:
    Can a Macintosh computer be a client on a Windows Domain?
    OR
    Is the Macintosh always going to be a participant that needs "shares" rather than a user/client that is bound by Active Directory limitations?

    I am just trying to get my bearings on this hybrid model.
     
  10. yellow Moderator emeritus

    yellow

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2003
    Location:
    Portland, OR
    #10
    Not entirely sure what you're asking because my computer-logic is centered entirely within the Mac world. Mostly.

    I can assure you, Macs can be bound to AD and respond to a limited amount of AD specified rules. Very limited. If you're running Tiger, the specified shares in a user's profile in the AD Users & Computers admin tool will automatically be mounted when a user logs in. But sometimes it goes away, hence, the use of an AppleScript to mount various shares.


    So I guess the answer to question 1 is "No, not really" or "sorta".
     
  11. belvdr macrumors 601

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2005
    #11
    Your Mac can be a client in AD. You would bind it to AD using Directory Access. You should see your Mac appear under the Computers OU in your AD Users and Computers snap-in. After doing that, make _sure_ you update the properties of the Mac (can't remember the place in Directory Access at the moment) for searching the new AD binding for authentication. That should help you get started in the right direction.

    Also, SMB is Server Message Block, a protocol developed by MS. In order to see things through Network Neighborhood and the Network alias, I usually run WINS, and setup the Mac to query WINS through the SMB section of Directory Access.
     
  12. Portnoy thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2005
    #12
    OK thanks guys,

    Thanks very much.
    I turned off the digital signing properties on MS Server2003 and could browse the Mac no problem.
    I went into Directory Access and removd the SMB/CIFS entry (disabled it).
    Rebooted the server and BLAH!

    So I re-entered the SMB/CIFS entry.
    Voila! I went to Network->Domain Name->ServerName and it asked me to login via SMB/CIFS.
    When I did there was a drop down menu of three items? A, SYSVOL, NETLOGON. These are common windows system folders. My specifically shared "temp" folder did not show??

    So I went into windows Server and drilled down to temp. I had to select the button "New Share" and CRASH BOOM....~~THE SKIES OPENED~~

    Look like I can share a folder now...sweet!

    Now, will the user need to do all that each time or will it populate after each reboot or do I need that apple-core script thingy??

    Thanks for your help!
     
  13. Portnoy thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2005
    #13
    Last item for now.

    When I log off the Mac, I lose the mapping to the share on the Windows Server.
    Is there a way to keep that alive.
    I don't want to have to map it everytime.
     

Share This Page