Networking Mac & Windows with ICS

Discussion in 'Mac Apps and Mac App Store' started by VespR, Jan 7, 2005.

  1. VespR macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2004
    #1
    Ok, I'm aware this might not be the best forum to post this question in, but I figure I'll be able to reach more people here and hopefully get an answer quicker :)

    Right to start off (and hopefully keeping a long story short), I have a powerbook running osx 10.3 and I was running a Windows 2K machine. The net was initially going into one ethernet card on my windows machine. And then the powerbook was connected via another network card in the windows machine. ICS was enabled on the network card that was connected to the modem and everything that need to be enabled on the mac end was, and I was online with my powerbook.

    Now I have a new PC with Windows XP Pro. I'm using exactly the same set up with ICS enabled on the network card connected to the modem and my Powerbook connected to the other network card. Now if I turn off my mac on windows it says, network cable unplugged, so they definately see each other (and theoritically, miss each other, excuse the pun), but my mac can't get online. Now seeing as I primarily use the PB and my family use the Windows machine this has left me at a loss. I'm aware routers are very cheap nowadays and will probably solve all my problems, but at the present time I simply do not need one when ICS solves all my problems, well used to.

    Does anybody have any thoughts? All feedback is very much appreciated.
     
  2. pcdoctor macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2002
    #2
    Well, I'm not a mac person but a pc person.
    Which pc is being used to connect to the Internet?
    On my Windows xp pc, it is connected directly to the Internet.
    My xp pc also has two network cards.
    One network card is connected to my cable modem and the other to a Win 2k pc.

    On my win2k pc I have the following settings.

    IP address 192.168.0.2
    Subnet mask 255.255.255.0
    DNS 192.168.0.1
    Gateway 192.168.0.1
    WINS N/A
    DNS suffix search list mshome.net

    On my xp pc (pc that's connected to the Internet) has these settings.

    Server (Local area network) – 3com network card
    IP address 192.168.0.1
    Subnet mask 255.255.255.0
    DNS N/A
    Gateway N/A
    WINS N/A

    Server (broadband connection Internet) – Marvell network card
    IP address Obtain an ip address automatically
    DNS Obtain an ip address automatically

    Since you are using a modem connected to the Internet I guess you would only need to apply the local area network settings.

    I used to have the win 2k pc set for dhcp but after I installed a 3rd party firewall, it stopped working.
    That's why I changed it to static ip.
     
  3. jeremy.king macrumors 603

    jeremy.king

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2002
    Location:
    Fuquay Varina, NC
    #3
    Well, I would suggest you

    double - even - triple check your config on the PC.
    http://www.microsoft.com/windowsxp/using/networking/learnmore/ics.mspx

    Make sure both cards are working

    check your firewall settings and

    Make sure your mac is setup for DHCP

    Just curious, why the anti-router sentiment? With a wireless router, config/maintenance is easy and you wouldn't be tethered to the PC. You may actually enjoy the wireless browsing :D
     
  4. pcdoctor macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2002
    #4
    vespr,

    I hope the info that I gave helps you.
    I love using ICS too!
     
  5. VespR thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2004
    #5
    Thanks for the reply mate, I'll give it a go in a mo! I'm not anti-router as such, I've got one at my house with my uni students, but whilst I'm at home for the holidays I don't see a need for a router just yet (till I move back full time), and so ICS just seems a cheaper alternative.

    Anyway, I'll give it all a go in a mo. It's odd coz it all worked automatically under Windows 2K, XP w/ SP2 just seems to be a bit different.

    Right time to start playing with some settings!

    Thanks again for the help

    re
    loz
     
  6. VespR thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2004
    #6
    And the router fixed everything...

    Gawdamn Windows and set pack two !
     

Share This Page