networking wireless and ethernet

Discussion in 'Mac Apps and Mac App Store' started by whyrichard, Feb 25, 2007.

  1. whyrichard macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2002
    #1
    Hello good mac people,

    i have been networking my mac and my windows pc.

    both use wireless to access the net.

    however i use ethernet to connect them to each other.... i thought i had a handle on this but apparently i don't...

    -how do i connect the mac and the pc to each other through ethernet, to share files/synergy/etc... while still having them access the net through wireless?


    thanks,
    r.
     
  2. EricNau Moderator emeritus

    EricNau

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2005
    Location:
    San Francisco, CA
    #2
    Are you using a hub/switch/router between the computers or just an ethernet cable?


    If you aren't using a hub or switch, traditionally you would need a crossover ethernet cable to connect one computer to another without any intermediate devices (although I am not sure this is still that case).

    Exactly what problem are you experiencing?
     
  3. Fearless Leader macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2006
    Location:
    Hoosiertown
    #3
    no he doesn't need a crossover, his mbp (?) takes care of that.

    Yes we need more info.
     
  4. whyrichard thread starter macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2002
    #4
    thanks for your help...

    no crossover cable, macbookpro hooked up with an ethernet cable to the back of my desktop computer...

    the problem is that i can network the two, file transfers through shared folders etc, only when my airport card is active on my macbook. when i turn it off, and have the ethernet cable hooked up, there is no ability to network the two computers.


    am i missing something?

    thanks again,
    r.
     
  5. mkrishnan Moderator emeritus

    mkrishnan

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2004
    Location:
    Grand Rapids, MI, USA
    #5
    Have you tried release/renewing DHCP on the Windows computer? It may not automatically be creating an ethernet connection when it already has wireless connection.

    Although, quasi-relatedly, when I did this with two macs, I found that it did automatically configure a second connection, but it wasn't clear that it forced data through the higher speed connection without turning off airport. Maybe I need to try this again.
     
  6. whyrichard thread starter macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2002
    #6
    fixed! needed to install the ethernet driver (of course i forgot to do this when i changed the motherboard on the pc)!


    thanks,
    r.
     

Share This Page