Networking

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by jamescwarren, Dec 10, 2005.

  1. jamescwarren macrumors 6502

    jamescwarren

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2005
    Location:
    Isle of Man
    #1
    Hi everyone. I have got two Macs. An iMac G4 and a PowerBook G4. I am thinking of networking them but I have heard that I will have a problem. This is because I run Mac OS X Tiger on both of them but when I bought the operating system I didn't get a family pack because I wasn't quite sure what it was at the time. If I connect them will it mess up my computers.

    Thanks.

    P.S. I have just got broadband and got a NETGEAR router. I think it is something called the 108 MBPS Super. It's something like that anyway; but it keeps stopping working for some reason. The lights on the front of it all say everything is fine but when I try and get web pages on my PowerBook it just doesn't do anything. It doesn't say anything like "You are not connected to the internet". If it helps at all so you can help me, I didn't use an installation CD. I just turned it on, it recognised ADSL was installed in the house and then I went on this website it mentioned in the manual. The web address looked a bit like and IP address. Thanks again.
     
  2. EricNau Moderator emeritus

    EricNau

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2005
    Location:
    San Francisco, CA
    #2
    If both computers are running tiger, you shouldn't have any problems, the 'Tiger Family Pack' is just a way to get several licenses at a cheaper price. Other than price, it doesn't affect anything.

    That "website" you went to, what did it look like? Was is a control panel for the router and network settings? Has your router ever worked?

    If you can, take back te Netgear and buy an Airport Express, it is much easier.
     
  3. asherman13 macrumors 6502a

    asherman13

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2005
    Location:
    SF Bay Area, CA
    #3
    correct me if i'm wrong, but i think that the op is asking if its an issue that both comps are using the same license for tiger. in my experiance, there shouldn't be a problem when they're networked....not sure though, as the setup i'm used to working with uses access points, not one router...good luck!
     
  4. EricNau Moderator emeritus

    EricNau

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2005
    Location:
    San Francisco, CA
    #4
    I see. If both computers are using the same license, I would think as soon as both logged onto the internet you could have a problem. Because it's illegal...
     
  5. Doctor Q Administrator

    Doctor Q

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2002
    Location:
    Los Angeles
    #5
    I doubt Mac OS X will self destruct or that Apple Security officers will show up on your doorstep if you network your Macs, but MacRumors policy is to avoid assisting with unlicensed use of software.

    I strongly suggest that you get yourself a second copy of Tiger rather than use the same single license on two Macs, whether you network them or not.
     
  6. jamescwarren thread starter macrumors 6502

    jamescwarren

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2005
    Location:
    Isle of Man
    #6
    The website is the router setup. following the replys above, should I go for it or not connecting the computers? I really don't want a broken computer. And my router does work. it just randomly keeps dropping the connection.
     
  7. EricNau Moderator emeritus

    EricNau

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2005
    Location:
    San Francisco, CA
    #7
    Your computers, are they running the same license for Tiger?
     
  8. jamescwarren thread starter macrumors 6502

    jamescwarren

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2005
    Location:
    Isle of Man
  9. EricNau Moderator emeritus

    EricNau

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2005
    Location:
    San Francisco, CA
    #9
    Then I would listen to Doctor Q and get back to us if you still are having problems.

    BTW, welcome to macRumors. :)
     
  10. iEdd macrumors 68000

    iEdd

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2005
    Location:
    Australia
    #10
    I think the single licence of mac os x should be a home licence for up to 3 macs and there should be a business one for up to 10 macs. Even if that bumps the prices up. I don't know of anyone who buys more than one copy of tiger for their computers.
     
  11. osprey76 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    May 3, 2004
    Location:
    Oklahoma City, OK
    #11
    To clarify the license question:

    The single user version ($129) is for a single computer only.

    The family pack ($199) is for up to five computers in the same household only.

    Apple doesn't have any sort of activation key system like many others have (Adobe and Microsoft come to mind.) So, you can run Tiger just fine on both of your computers. You are in breach of your license, but there are no ramifications to the operation of the computer(s) in question.


    I have no idea how to help you with the router with the description given. Could you post some settings? An install or setup disk isn't necessary to get the router started, but knowing what your settings are is pretty important.
     
  12. jamescwarren thread starter macrumors 6502

    jamescwarren

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2005
    Location:
    Isle of Man
    #12
    I think now that the problem with my router isn't actually anything. It could possibly just be the phone line. I'm not 100% sure but will check it out. And if you say so, I will try networking them.

    Thanks for your help everyone.
     
  13. Doctor Q Administrator

    Doctor Q

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2002
    Location:
    Los Angeles
    #13
    I think they should sell them in ALL quantities, with a rapidly decreasing price per copy as the quantity goes up. Until they do, I buy family packs and I'm rather lucky that we have exactly 5 Macs in the household.
     
  14. Eidorian macrumors Penryn

    Eidorian

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Location:
    Indianapolis
    #14
    We have a volume license at work but only install from one Tiger DVD. Yeah, I've installed Tiger from that DVD on about 15 Macs. I've been told we have a volume license but I just don't get how we enforce it on Mac OS X.
     
  15. Mitthrawnuruodo Moderator emeritus

    Mitthrawnuruodo

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2004
    Location:
    Bergen, Norway
    #15
    I got the Tiger family pack... and we just have two Macs...

    What I don't like about Apple's licences is that one user cannot use one licence on two Macs that you are the main user of (like a desktop and a notebook maybe one at work and one at home), Adobe and even Microsoft lets you do that.

    But I would be mighty p***ed if all Apple licences became volume licences. If I just need one licence for myself what's the point of paying for 3 or 5 users.

    To the OP: Your Macs will talk just fine. Just get a family pack next time you want to use the same software on more than one Mac...
     
  16. EricNau Moderator emeritus

    EricNau

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2005
    Location:
    San Francisco, CA
    #16
    Windows lets you install a copy on more than one computer? :confused: :eek:
     
  17. SmurfBoxMasta macrumors 65816

    SmurfBoxMasta

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2005
    Location:
    I'm only really here at night.
    #17

    hahahahahaha
    hehehehehehe
    :D:):D:):D
     
  18. Eidorian macrumors Penryn

    Eidorian

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Location:
    Indianapolis
    #18
    Office and some Adobe software lets you install it on your desktop and laptop.
     
  19. RedTomato macrumors 68040

    RedTomato

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2005
    Location:
    .. London ..
    #19
    I brought 2 copies of MS Office Student and Teacher for our company ( a non-profit arts company) which runs 5 iBooks.

    Each package comes with 3 serial numbers, which you can tick off when you use them.

    MS guidelines say you can use one for your school/ work computer, one for the home computer, and one for the laptop.

    We were advised by the local Apple store (before purchasing) that it was legal for us to use all 3 serial numbers in our office as we were a non-profit company.

    Hope that helps some of you, as it was a really massive saving, about 80% of buying 5 copies of the full MS Office.

    ..RedTomato..
     

Share This Page