New 2012 - 27 inch faulty wifi card

Discussion in 'iMac' started by mikeqls, Apr 9, 2013.

  1. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2012
    Location:
    bromley, kent , uk
    #1
    Machine is 3 months old .... Keeps losing Internet connection ... Spoke apple care .... Now gotta take it in to store!! Pain in the butt. Anyone else had this problem???
     
  2. macrumors 603

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2008
    Location:
    Seattle
    #2
    How do you know it's a faulty wifi card?
     
  3. thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2012
    Location:
    bromley, kent , uk
    #3
    It's what the apple care guy thought..... The wifi bit ( top right) is grey and alternates between looking for wifi to wifi on. This isn't the first time this has happened.... Last time AppleCare talked through a load of stuff and seemed ok. Hadn't used pc for three days... When it came out of sleep mode it couldn't connect to the internet.... Wifi router is fine as its fine on a windows pc and this iPad and iPhone.
    An thoughts would be appreciated
     
  4. macrumors 603

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2008
    Location:
    Seattle
    #4
    I suppose it could be a faulty wifi card, though unlikely. Try resetting SMC/PRAM and removing the connection from WiFi preferences.
     
  5. macrumors G3

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2002
    Location:
    Sol III - Terra
    #5
    I presume the iPad's WiFi was tested near the Mac? Not knowing where everything is in your house, this just eliminates interference from something as an issue.

    If the WiFi base is operating fine with the items you mentioned connecting to it, then it most likely is an issue with the hardware in your Mac.

    Why unlikely? Especially since other devices are working fine. Hardware issues do happen. The machine is less than 3 months old and it has happened before.
     
  6. thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2012
    Location:
    bromley, kent , uk
    #6
    Thanks for your comments.... Tried resetting everything ..... Still the same..... Gonna have to take it to the store:-(((
     
  7. thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2012
    Location:
    bromley, kent , uk
    #7
    Tried one last time and reset everything - it works!!!!! Changed wifi connection to ethernet connection......wifi is fine with all devices!!!

    spoke to apple care again - now reckon it was interference with other devices in house - i.e..... two wireless home phones, ipad, lap top etc etc

    moved a few things about and it seems to be ok.....keep my fingers crossed!!! LOL
     
  8. macrumors 65816

    bmcgrath

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2006
    Location:
    London, United Kingdom
    #8
    What's your router? Cheapo routers have caused me serious headaches. Hence I invested in the Airport Extreme and I haven't had a single dropout since I purchased it.
     
  9. thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2012
    Location:
    bromley, kent , uk
    #9
    British telecom supply it..... Had it a few years e- wire...... If it carries on I will get on to them to upgrade it...... But so far so good....... Been about 8 hours!!! Lol
     
  10. macrumors 65816

    bmcgrath

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2006
    Location:
    London, United Kingdom
    #10
    Mate BT routers are woeful! They claimed to supply me with their 'latest and greatest' when I had infinity installed in my old place. The drop outs were hideous.

    Same when I changed to Hyperoptics and they supplied their standard. Terrible.

    Replaced with the Apple AE and I'm never looking back. Until AC arrives anyway :)
     
  11. thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2012
    Location:
    bromley, kent , uk
    #11
    Must admit I've done a bit of research and come to the same conclusion!!! Still at the moment - it's still working - so I stick with it.....if it aint broke - dont fix it motto!!!! ........I think in time Though i will change it.

    Thanks for your input
    Mike
     

Share This Page