New 2012 iMac and no Firewire

Discussion in 'iMac' started by Vuddha, Dec 7, 2012.

  1. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2012
    #1
    I need some help. I am purchasing a 27: Imac and the new Imac's have done away with Firewire 400 and 800 I have Digital Converter [ADVC 110] It uses a 6-pin FireWire (IEEE 1394a) cable. to power it.
    http://www.grassvalley.com/products/advc110

    Does any one know how I could hook it up to the New Imac? USB 3 or thunderbolt?

    :confused:
     
  2. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2010
    #2
  3. macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2012
    #3
    http://store.apple.com/us/product/MD464ZM/A/apple-thunderbolt-to-firewire-adapter

    Then just use a 9>6 pin firewire cable to convert it from the 800 port to the 400 port on your converter.
     
  4. macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2009
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    #4
  5. macrumors 601

    Mr. Retrofire

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2010
    Location:
    www.emiliana.cl
    #5
    Based on real events:
    http://www.geekculture.com/joyoftech/joyimages/1164.jpg
     
  6. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    #6
    Have you considered moving into the digital world in terms of recording sources? You are going to be increasingly compromised with analog input sources in terms of speed of capture, etc.
     
  7. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    May 13, 2005
    #7
    For some of us, part of our job is converting old analog video to digital.

    I also use an ADVC 110 and after reading some reviews of the firewire adapter on the Apple site, you may run into problems powering it from the bus. You can buy an A/C adapter for your ADVC 110 and hopefully it should work correctly with your new iMac.

    If you buy the Apple firewire adapter, can you report back how it works?
     
  8. thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2012
    #8
    ;) Yes I am planning to move into the Digital world. This is why I need to copy all of my old Super 8, 35mm slides, VCR tapes and more to digital that is why I am using the ADVC 110 to do this. Thanks for asking. :D
     
  9. macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2009
    #9
    I still wonder why Apple removed Firewire from the iMac but still retained it in the 2012 models of the MBPro without Retina Display, Mac Pro, iMac and Mac mini.

    The Apple Thunderbolt to FireWire Adapter may not supply enough electricity to bus-powered peripherals.
     
  10. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2008
    Location:
    Toronto, ON, Canada
    #10
    Because they didn't change the chassis of the Mini, Mac Pro or MacBook Pro. Probably not worth the expense and designer time in their view.
     
  11. Vuddha, Dec 8, 2012
    Last edited: Dec 8, 2012

    thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2012
    #11
    Thank you for your input. I should be Getting my New Imac in Jan. I also purchased the Following:

    Apple Thunderbolt to FireWire Adapter
    http://store.apple.com/us/product/MD464ZM/A/apple-thunderbolt-to-firewire-adapter?fnode=51

    Moshi 800 to 400 FireWire Adapter
    http://store.apple.com/us/product/TW748LL/A/moshi-800-to-400-firewire-adapter?fnode=51

    27-inch iMac

    Delivers Jan 4 - Jan 10 via Standard Shipping

    Configuration
    3.4GHz Quad-Core Intel Core i7
    8GB 1600MHz DDR3 SDRAM-2X4GB-Replaced with 32GB 1600MHz DDR3 SDRAM-4x8GB from Crucial $151.98
    768GB Flash Storage
    NVIDIAGeFrc GTX 680MX 2G GDDR5
    MAGIC MOUSE+MAGIC TRACKPAD
    Apple WL Kybd (English)+UG
    COUNTRY KIT

    Samsung SE-506AB/TSBD 6X USB2.0 External Slim Blu-ray Writer Drive (Black)
    http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B006B7R9QE/ref=oh_details_o02_s01_i04

    LaCie 6TB 2big Quadra Hard Disk Two Bay RAID Drive, Up to 210MB/s Transfer Rate, USB 3.0, 7200rpm Rotational Speed
    http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B0097C4WTM/ref=oh_details_o06_s00_i00

    CyberPower CP1500PFCLCD PFC Compatible 1500VA 900W Pure Sine Wave Tower UPS
    http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B00429N19W/ref=oh_details_o00_s00_i00

    I work with Photoshop, and Adobe Premier, After Effects and I play WoW on MAC and Star Wars Old Republic and other PC only games. I have a Synology DS212+ NAS for Data and Backup.
    I will be happy to report back to you about how it worked out.
     
  12. Vuddha, Dec 8, 2012
    Last edited: Dec 8, 2012

    thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2012
    #12
    They said 7W of power and only needs 5V but if it is still not enough power then I will go with:
    ADVC-PSU5V AC adapter kit*2

    http://www.grassvalley.com/products/advc110
    http://www.amazon.com/Canopus-ADVC-PSU5V-Power-Supply-Adaptor/dp/B000GJTA5G

    First I'll try with Firewire adapters.
     
  13. macrumors 6502

    MatthewAMEL

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2007
    Location:
    Orlando, FL
    #13
    BTW- the Thunderbolt/FW adapter provides a full-speed FW800 port. I use on with my 13" MBP and an external FW800 disk. Works just fine and at full speed.

    I love my ADVC110. Only about 300 hours of Hi8 movies left to move over. :D
     
  14. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2012
    Location:
    upstate NY
    #14
    Wow, what a beast...
     
  15. macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2012
    #15
    I guess that's why some of my renders aren't going that well.

    Well, after Christmas I'll have to buy a Thunderbolt RAID...
     
  16. macrumors 601

    Mr. Retrofire

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2010
    Location:
    www.emiliana.cl
    #16
    You do not need the FW800/FW400 adapter. You need only the correct cable, such as:
    http://www.monoprice.com/products/p...d=10301&cs_id=1030105&p_id=332&seq=1&format=2
    (10 ft)

    More
    “9 PIN/ 6PIN BILINGUAL FireWire 800 - FireWire 400 Cables”:
    http://www.monoprice.com/products/subdepartment.asp?c_id=103&cp_id=10301#1030105

    :)
     
  17. macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2012
    #17
  18. macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2012
    #18
    If you are so into video, why not get a Mini with a Dell U2713HM. That display allows accurate playback of video framerates, where the iMac only does 60p. Cheaper too.
     
  19. macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2012
    #19
    No because the mini doesn't have dedicated graphics and you can just plug in another monitor to the iMac anyway.
     
  20. macrumors 601

    Mr. Retrofire

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2010
    Location:
    www.emiliana.cl
    #20
    No. You call the useless FW800/FW400 adapter “correct”. Typical.
     
  21. macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2012
    #21
    What's 'typical'?

    If you look, he needs to plug something with FireWire 400 into the iMac...so he needs Thunderbolt to FW800, then FW800 to FW400...
     

Share This Page