New airport extreme card connection timeout?

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by jay2k6ie, Nov 26, 2009.

  1. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2009
    #1
    Hi,

    I just got an airport extreme card and installed it in my Power Mac G5 which is running leopard.

    Im trying to connect to my Linksys router downstairs which is password protected. The airport sees the wireless network but when I try and connect and insert the password i get a 'connection timeout' message.

    I tried to use the assistant also but when it come to inserting the password its says the password is incorrect even though it definitly is correct..

    Im relatively new to Mac so please excuse the lack of knowledge.

    cheers
     
  2. thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2009
    #2
    anyone?
     
  3. thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2009
    #3
    Ive scrapped the airport express and bought an airport extreme card but would you believe im having the same 'connection timeout' problem when I try and connect to my wireless router.. It asks me for the network password (tried WEP and WPA) but it always says 'connection timeout' or 'invalid password' even though the password is definitly correct.

    Im totally fed up at this stage connecting a cpu to wireless broadband should not be this difficult. This is my first encounter with Mac and probably my last.
     
  4. macrumors 601

    OrangeSVTguy

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2007
    Location:
    Northeastern Ohio
    #4
    Try rebooting your Mac. I sometimes gets this too with my Powerbook. It has everything to do with(in my experience) with the location of the router. I try changing the channels from time to time as it seems my wireless signal seems to come and go as it pleases. I since moved it to the top of the shelf on the desk as the router sits in the basement. One second I have full strength then it goes down to nothing and I can't even access my router wirelessly to change the settings.


    Try moving your router to a more central location or bigger antenna?

    Since you have a G5, what model do you have? I believe the dual-core models had an internal antenna while the older models had a port in the back for an external antenna for both the airport and bluetooth. I remember using a safety pin long time ago as an antenna in my old G5 and also even running it with the side door off to get a wireless signal.
     
  5. thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2009
    #5
    I tried your safety pin idea with no luck. I cant afford to buy the official apple antenna right now because ive already spent loads of the extreme card and an airport express and still somehow have no internet connection..

    Is there any way I can use the airport express with my G5 to connect to my wireless network.. All im trying to do is connect to the internet it shouldnt be this hard.. lol
     

Share This Page