New Airport Extreme released!!!

Discussion in 'Mac Accessories' started by menziep, Jan 9, 2007.

1. weldon macrumors 6502a

May 22, 2004
    Denver, CO
    I'm glad they updated it, but it would be nice to hit a lower price point too. $179 is a lot for an access point.

Airport Disk sounds like a very cool feature. It needs to be reliable though.
  2. Simon1966 macrumors regular

May 23, 2006
    United Kingdom
    AirPort Extreme uses next-generation 802.11n wireless technology

Does this mean that Apple will issue a software update for the new macbook and macbook pro models that have the new n card already installed?
    I needed a new wireless access point so this has come at the right time and with a discount because i am a student - shame the Apple tv isn't discounted too!

3. stevento macrumors 6502

Dec 10, 2006
    Los Angeles
    actually, the site say most current macs have the n card
  4. JSchwage macrumors 6502a

May 5, 2006
    Rochester, NY
    The old AirPort Extremes are already in the clearance section for $129. :p
  5. benzslrpee macrumors 6502

Jan 1, 2007
    the n-enabling software it says comes with the new Airport. so you gotta buy it to enable it. man that's kinda expensive just to enable something and why doesn't it use gigabit ports?
  6. fotomiami macrumors newbie

Dec 27, 2006
    is 802.11n an industry standard or will this only be compatible with certain devices?

I thought 802.11n wasn't official yet.
  7. ksolano macrumors regular

Oct 31, 2006
    does my imac intel Core Duo have the new card? or is my mac already Old?
  8. iJon macrumors 604

Feb 7, 2002
    And Apple left off the optical port on the new Airport which makes no sense to me. If I want AirTunes I will either have to choose to get the Airport Express or get the new Airport Extreme and the Express or get the Extreme and iTV. Other than that it looks sharp.

9. Dreadnought macrumors 68020

Jul 22, 2002
    Almere, The Netherlands