[NEW APP] Film Theater - Feedback Please!

Discussion in 'Mac Apps and Mac App Store' started by grabberslasher, Feb 8, 2007.

1. grabberslasher macrumors 6502

Hi there,

Film Theater is a new app I am in the process of coding that just takes your ~/Movies folder and displays all the movies/folders in it and gives you simple playback controls and allows fullscreen playback. Also works with Apple Remote.

I'm putting it out there just to get some feedback on what I should add/change, please post here with suggestions - I'd be very grateful. I'm a student so don't be expecting too much in the way of advanced features! I designed this because I hate playing movies in iTunes - I recommend Perian and Flip4Mac WMV for optimal movie experience :)

Icon is not yet done. If anyone is willing to offer their services I would be more than happy to accept :D I have ideas for icons but can't as of yet acheive them in Photoshop

Attached Files:

2. tomhut macrumors member

tomhut

3. autoy macrumors newbie

Wow, looks really good. Congrats! I really hate iTunes can't catalog my movies in other formats than MPEG4.
    It would really much more useful if it supported subtitles, as Quicktime does not and I currently use MovieTime (great player too) for that. It would be great also if it could fetch info and art from IMDB, so that could be used for art browsing, a bit like Frontrow online trailers or the ?TV browsers. This info could also be used to generate DVD covers as well. You can do really great stuff just fetching info from the internet.

A 'watched folder' behaviour and Apple remote sound great :)

Cheers.

4. Fearless Leader macrumors 68020

I like it. Are you using the quicktime engine to drive this?
    Also try to integrate movies from the itunes library.

5. grabberslasher thread starter macrumors 6502

Yes it uses Quicktime. Re iTunes - they're in the Movies folder in the iTunes Library folder, so I could add that. You could also symlink it.

6. Simon R. macrumors 6502