new Apple earphones

Discussion in 'iPod' started by AeroBar, Aug 20, 2009.

  1. AeroBar
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2009
    #1
    hi,
    I was just on the Apple site to buy replacement earphones, but the "ordinary" ones have been replaced by a version with a remote and mic.
    when did this happen and how can I get the previous version?
    cheers
     
  2. GoCubsGo
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors Nehalem

    GoCubsGo

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2005
    #2
    Looks like it's eBay for you. Perhaps the refurb store? They may sell old unused stock there too.
     
  3. r.j.s
    Expand Collapse
    Moderator emeritus

    r.j.s

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2007
    Location:
    Missouri
  4. thegoldenmackid
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors 604

    thegoldenmackid

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2006
    Location:
    dallas, texas
    #4
    I somewhat wonder if they stopped selling them suddenly after stock went real low after going out of production. As the iPod features that allow for the use of the mic are not "brand new."

    Try going to your local Apple store and finding them.
     
  5. AeroBar
    Expand Collapse
    thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2009
    #5
    would there be anyway to get new ones off Apple??:(
     
  6. r.j.s
    Expand Collapse
    Moderator emeritus

    r.j.s

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2007
    Location:
    Missouri
    #6
    Probably not, unless you can find them at a store.
     
  7. celticpride678
    Expand Collapse
    Guest

    celticpride678

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2009
    Location:
    Boston, MA
    #7
    No. Once Apple discontinues something, no more. Unless its computers or iPods that are refurbished.
     
  8. AeroBar
    Expand Collapse
    thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2009
  9. gan6660
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors 65816

    gan6660

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2008
    #9
    They both sound the same and cost the same so its really no big deal.
     
  10. tooz
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2009
    #10
    well I got mine replaced under warranty. rang them up and they sent me a new pair.

    they "just broke" , after I fell asleep on them (several times) :D
     
  11. elppa
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors 68040

    elppa

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2003
    #11
    Couldn't you just buy some good headphones instead for the same price (or less)?
     
  12. NC MacGuy
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors 603

    NC MacGuy

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2005
    Location:
    The good side of the grass.
    #12
    The pisser is they're still standard issue for the current Touch which certainly could use the mic. and remote. F'n Apple.:rolleyes:
     

Share This Page