New At Mac Gaming

Discussion in 'Games' started by mac.head.high, Jan 5, 2006.

1. mac.head.high macrumors regular

mac.head.high

Hey people. So I'm a sound designer, mac user, and an avid console gamer. But I just got my new G5 Dual-core 2.3GHz with the NVIDIA 7800 GT and Apple Cinema Display 20' Flat Panel, and I need some advice.

I'm new to non-console gaming and high(er) end video cards, so I'd love any advice on what are the best video settings for Halo. And/or any video games advice in general for a newbie to the mac gaming scene. I'm just looking for the smoothest game-play possible with no screen distortion.

Let me know. Thanks.

2. Mord macrumors G4

Mord

trial and improvement....

make sure you always have pixel shaders on the game is not worth playing on a system like yours without them.

3. super_kev macrumors 6502

super_kev

Best settings for Halo?

Everything on maximum. Whether your 7800 will shine or not is another question. :D

4. Qoxiivi macrumors regular

Qoxiivi

I have an iMac 2.1Ghz and this set-up works pretty well for me:

Pixel + Vertex Shaders

Detail Objects
    Model Reflections

FSAA: x4
    Lens Flare: Medium
    Model Detail: High

Resolution 1280 x 800

However, given the power of your set-up, I'd try it at 1600 x 1050 and see how well that runs - maybe upping the FSAA as well.

Be warned though, although you're running a system which should be able to handle all settings on max, Halo (as pointed out to me in another thread on this page) has been badly optimised for Mac and won't run as well as it should.

Let me know how you fare - I'm interested.

Qoxiivi

PS: You should try Unreal Tournament 2004 - that's a beautiful game and should fly along on your Mac with everything on max - it's a much better quality port that Halo.

5. BlizzardBomb macrumors 68030

BlizzardBomb

Considering the power you got there, I would recommend: