new atv connection type?

Discussion in 'Apple TV and Home Theater' started by surfkw, Sep 1, 2010.

  1. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2004
    #1
    My TV has a DVI input but no HDMI. Will I be able to use a HDMI-DVI dongle on the new atv without issue?
    Thanks!
     
  2. macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    May 27, 2008
    #2
    yes, they're pretty much the same signal, just different connectors, HDMI adds audio.
     
  3. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2004
  4. macrumors 65816

    ovrlrd

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2009
    #4
    You can get audio using the optical out connector on the Apple TV.
     
  5. macrumors 68020

    8CoreWhore

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2008
    Location:
    Big D
    #5
    You'd still need to route the audio...

    ...and there's be no way to play copy-protected content (HDCP) such as iTunes rentals or purchases.
     
  6. thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2004
    #6
    thanks

    Thanks everyone! Hmmm, the inability to play protected content on a device meant almost solely for renting said content is something I'll need to think about before making a purchase. Thanks for the heads-up.

    If my TV has no optical in for audio can I route it in through component? Not sure I know what I am talking about so here is a picture of my TV inputs.
    [​IMG]
     
  7. macrumors 604

    gkarris

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2004
    Location:
    "No escape from Reality..."
    #7
    The new DVI ports are HDCP compliant... double check with the Panel's specs...
     
  8. thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2004
    #8
    audio

    So I can hook up the atv to my tv with a HDMI>DVI cable for picture which works fine for me. For the audio I'll have to use the optical out (TOSLink, right?), is there a cable that goes from optical to analog right and left (red and white)? I can't seem to find one online... I don't have a separate speaker system, just want to use the inputs on my tv.

    thanks
     
  9. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2009
    Location:
    UK
    #9
    you would need a converter such as one like this

    http://www.lindy.co.uk/spdif-digital-to-analogue-stereo-audio-converter/70408.html


    use hdmi converter to DVI
    use optical converter to analogue DVI in

    Should work, but no promises!
     

Share This Page