New ATV Remote options

Discussion in 'Apple TV and Home Theater' started by Seubs070, Oct 2, 2010.

  1. Seubs070
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2010
    #1
    Just got back from the Apple store with my new Apple TV. The guy in the store said the remote was bluetooth. Does anyone know if the new ATV has an IR receiver. Can I set up my Harmony remote to work with it?

    Thanks!
     
  2. iPhone1
    Expand Collapse
    Contributor

    iPhone1

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2010
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
    #2
    It does have an IR receiver as the old white remotes work fine with the new Apple TV.
     
  3. spacepower7
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    May 6, 2004
  4. Seubs070
    Expand Collapse
    thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2010
    #4
    Awesome news.

    So has anyone setup a Harmony remote to work with one yet? Does harmony have a profile from them or do you need to use the learning function?
     
  5. Intell
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors P6

    Intell

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2010
    Location:
    Inside
    #5
    I remember reading that some people have gotten their Harmony remotes working with them. If the remote has a setting for the old Apple TV it'll still work as they have the exact IR codes.
     
  6. BoulderBum
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2008
    #6
    I use a Harmony 900. It worked fine with the old Apple TV and worked with the new one without the need for reprogramming. 'Same IR codes, as mentioned.

    The iPhone remote app is also stellar!
     
  7. JeffLebowski41
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2010
    #7
    I use a harmony 676 with mine. No problems. For music and YouTube I use the remote app since it's more efficient for searches.
     
  8. HT Guy
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2009
    #8
    I have a Harmony One that I setup for the ATV2. It works great. Just setup the device as a media center computer, brand is Appple and the device as Apple TV.
     
  9. JodyK
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors 6502a

    JodyK

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2010
    Location:
    Northern Atlanta suburbs
    #9
    The remote with it is not Bluetooth and if you have a Mac in the same room it will try and bring up content on it ... Annoying!

    My solution as I have an iphone and ipad was the Apple remote App!

    It is really cool and runs off the wifi network!
     
  10. aross99
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors 68000

    aross99

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2006
    Location:
    East Lansing, MI
    #10
    You can unpair the remote with your Mac's so that they are not controlled with the remote. That way when you use the remote it will only effect the Apple TV.
     
  11. Seubs070
    Expand Collapse
    thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2010
    #11
    Thanks! Got it working with my harmony pretty easily. Now I can use the Apple TV remote with my mac mini in the bedroom, Although it doesn't seem to be working real well. (Takes multiple button presses to do anything)
     
  12. hansenc
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors 6502

    hansenc

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2004
    #12
    Yeah the guy at the apple store told me it was bluetooth also. I corrected him and he didn't seem to believe me.
     
  13. cfedu
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors 65816

    cfedu

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2009
    Location:
    Toronto
    #13


    i just turned off the IR in my mac not to have this problem

    I had 3 macs in one room at one time and this was driving me crazy, until I found the solution
     

Share This Page