New B/W G3 - Questions about upgrading

Discussion in 'Apple Collectors' started by pinetec, Mar 21, 2006.

  1. pinetec macrumors member

    pinetec

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2006
    Location:
    Red Sox Nation
    #1
    I purchased a B/W G3 off ebay last year and it's just been sitting in it's box waiting for me. I'm thinking about overclocking it to 400 Mhz.

    Two questions, I want to add it to my wireless network. What kind of card can I use? I also want to upgrade the video card, any suggestions?

    Thanks
    Michael
     
  2. Spock macrumors 68000

    Spock

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2002
    Location:
    Vulcan
    #2
  3. Eidorian macrumors Penryn

    Eidorian

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Location:
    Indianapolis
    #3
  4. ReanimationLP macrumors 68030

    ReanimationLP

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2005
    Location:
    On the moon.
    #4
    Holy ****, do you mean its SEALED?!?!?? X.X

    You gotta take pictures for us. :p
     
  5. GimmeSlack12 macrumors 603

    GimmeSlack12

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2005
    Location:
    San Francisco
    #5
    www.xlr8yourmac.com

    By far the best info on modifying that G3. It is the site I used to OverClock my G3/B&W back in 1999 when I first got it. As for a wirelss card you should be aware that certain revisions of PCI cards use new chipsets that might not work with the Mac anymore. So beware on what revision you're buying. I'll try to drum up some info on that. But I would highly recommend Overclocking, as mine B&W has had zero problems. I bumped it from 350 -> 400.
     
  6. ReanimationLP macrumors 68030

    ReanimationLP

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2005
    Location:
    On the moon.
    #6
    Any Mac compatible card will do.

    Dig up on eBay a G4 ZIF processor and get one. Its quite a boost. :)

    Also, the best video card for these so far are the PNY GeForce 5200 and 5500 flashed with a Mac ROM, but that involves having a PC. You can find out more at www.strangedogs.com

    More RAM is always good. Try bumping it up to at least 512MB. >.> *Plugs himself here* I have for sale RAM that works in these models, if you'd like some, PM me. *End plug here*

    Also, another place to touch on is the hard disk drive, any hard disk will be better than the stock drive, since it was a 5400RPM normally. These machines can not handle drives larger than 137GB without a ATA card or some program that I forgot the name of. x.x Best to just go for a 120GB.
     
  7. Maxwell Smart macrumors 6502a

    Maxwell Smart

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2006
    #7
    *plug from me* I have a 120GB 7,200RPM 8MB cache drive that worked GREAT in my PowerMac G3 (before i sold it) that I could sell for 55 shipped if you're interested *end plug*
     
  8. Eidorian macrumors Penryn

    Eidorian

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Location:
    Indianapolis
    #8
    *plug for me* I have OS 9.2.1 CD's so you can install the firmware update to get it to run a G4 ZIF.
     
  9. pinetec thread starter macrumors member

    pinetec

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2006
    Location:
    Red Sox Nation
    #9
    Let me know what you want for the RAM. Right now I have 4 sticks of 64Mb in the machine, but the third bank won't recoginize any of the sticks so I only have a total of 192 MB.

    I've already replaced the original 6 GB drive with two 80 GB drives I had laying around and I picked up a refurbed Pioneer/Apple DVD burner from OWC for only $29.

    I'm running 10.3.9 on the machine now. After I upgrade the RAM I'll put tiger on it and see how that runs.

    I've also O/C it to 450 Mhz with no problems.
     
  10. madmax_2069 macrumors 6502a

    madmax_2069

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2005
    Location:
    Springfield Ohio
    #10
    i bought a G3 450mhz cpu off ebay for $50 for my Beige G3. i didnt want to OC my system bus so its at 66mhz and since its at that system bus speed i cant get to 450mhz, either 433 or 466 so i chose 466mhz and runs great. it was a G3 266mhz so i got a bit of a speed boost
     

Share This Page