New BiteSMS Beta: CUSTOM Text Ringtones Per Contact

Discussion in 'Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks' started by Mystikal, Aug 16, 2010.

  1. macrumors 68020

    Mystikal

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2007
    Location:
    Irvine, CA
  2. macrumors 601

    Krafty

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2007
    Location:
    La La Land
    #2
    Downloading. But I dont think I'm going to use that feature.
     
  3. macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2009
    #3
    does 4.98 disable after the trial? Or its just filled with ads?? I was having trouble paying
     
  4. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2007
  5. macrumors 6502a

    gravytrain84

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2010
    Location:
    LA
    #5
    How do I get the new version if i've previously purchased BITEsms
     
  6. macrumors 601

    Krafty

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2007
    Location:
    La La Land
    #6
    I've purchased a full license as well (since 2.0), all you do is enter the beta repo and refresh, it should mark biteSMS as an update.
     
  7. macrumors 6502a

    gravytrain84

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2010
    Location:
    LA
    #7
    Thanks

    "Ability to easily see recent messages for a given contact in Quick Reply. So it’s much easier to see the context of a new message"

    This is what I'm looking forward to.
     
  8. macrumors 6502

    Big Ells

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2010
    Location:
    London, UK
    #8
    Its early here and my brain isn't working yet, how do i do that?
     
  9. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2009
    #9
    hmm am I entering something wrong? When I try to enter the repo address in that post it is giving me an error in Cydia that it could not find a repo

    Edit: nvm 2nd time was the charm
     
  10. macrumors 6502

    atiffarooq

    Joined:
    May 27, 2006
    #10
    1. Launch Cydia
    2. Click Manage at the bottom, then select Sources
    3. Click Edit (top right) and then Add (top left)
    4. Enter the address http://www.bitesms.com/cydia/beta5.0
    5. Return to Cydia
    6. Click on Changes at the bottom and you should see biteSMS available as an upgrade now.
     
  11. macrumors 6502

    Big Ells

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2010
    Location:
    London, UK
  12. macrumors 6502

    atiffarooq

    Joined:
    May 27, 2006
    #12
    No problem :D
     
  13. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2008
    Location:
    The Beach
    #13
    How stable is this beta version, worth getting before the final release comes out?
     
  14. macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2007
    #14
    To my understanding all of their betas are quite stable. I am on b1 5.0 and haven't had any issues. I've sent and received about 100 texts in the last hour.
     
  15. macrumors 6502a

    Bawstun

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2009
    #15
    Me too, but I can't find it, lol. How do you activate this feature in the beta? I seem to be missing it, and Quick Reply looks no different to me when I see the preview and hit "reply"...
     
  16. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2010
    #16
    From how it reads to me, that's not out yet in beta 1.
     
  17. macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2007
    #17
    +1 to my understanding.
     
  18. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2010
  19. macrumors 68020

    IrishVixen

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2010
    #19
    This pushed me over the edge. JB'd this morning; custom SMS tones and better SMS experience overall was one of the two reasons I wanted to JB, but I didn't want to have to deal with SSH'ing in just just change a couple of sounds.

    Thanks, Mystikal, for posting and thanks atiffarooq for the very clear instructions on how to install the beta!
     
  20. macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2010
    #20
    I changed my Icons for BiteSMS. if I upgrade to the beta version, will the Icons change back to the stock ones?
     
  21. macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    May 25, 2010
    #21
    Thanks for sharing that the beta was out! Downloaded :) Loving it
     
  22. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2008
    #22
    i think ill wait, custom ringtones are just 5 basic ringtones at the moment. id like to use my own
     
  23. macrumors 6502

    atiffarooq

    Joined:
    May 27, 2006
    #23
    I changed my icon as well and when upgrading the icon remained the same. You're safe to upgrade.
     
  24. macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2009
    Location:
    Parts Unknown
    #24
    Why not just change the 5 stock ringtones?
     
  25. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2008
    #25
    good thinkin :D lol, that didnt cross my mind
     

Share This Page