New Blizzard Game to Be Announced on 5/20!

Discussion in 'Mac and PC Games' started by Maclarny, Apr 28, 2007.

?

What's it going to be?

Poll closed May 21, 2007.
  1. Diablo III

    11 vote(s)
    11.2%
  2. Starcraft 2

    75 vote(s)
    76.5%
  3. Warcraft 4

    0 vote(s)
    0.0%
  4. Something new altogether?

    12 vote(s)
    12.2%
  1. macrumors 6502

    Maclarny

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2003
    Location:
    MN
    #1
    Article HERE

    omg omg omg

    Even Blizz confirms it!

    Starcraft 2 anyone? It looks like a new MMO is in the works, as well!

    /EXCITED
     
  2. macrumors 68040

    mattscott306

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2007
    #2
    Still don't know to believe if it's true or not... but if it is... that'll make me quite happy.


    SC2... mmmmmmmmm
     
  3. macrumors 65816

    Chone

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2006
    #3
    If it's another MMORPG then I'll be VERY dissapointed.

    I'll be super happy with anything except World of Starcraft or World of Diablo...
     
  4. macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2004
    #4
    They are doing another MMOG, but they just started hiring for it last week, so I wouldn't worry about that for a long time.

    --Eric
     
  5. thread starter macrumors 6502

    Maclarny

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2003
    Location:
    MN
    #5
    There is some speculation that they may be doing a port of WoW to nex-gen consoles. Not the wisest of moves imho.
     
  6. macrumors 65816

    Ja Di ksw

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2003
    #6
    Not to be a dick, but this was already mentioned on the recent SC2 rumor thread.
     
  7. macrumors 6502a

    AoWolf

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2003
    Location:
    Daytona Beach
    #7
    A gamespot link does lend this some more credibility although they may just be parroting information. There was some confusion as to the original source at blizzard korea.

    Personally I think its Star Craft 2. I remember reading a thread a year or so ago asking what the players would like in a star craft sequel. And the fact that its in korea.
     
  8. macrumors 68020

    Erasmus

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2006
    Location:
    Australia, Where Omnius can't find me!
    #8
    Siiick...

    Let's just hope Apple ends up sticking in the Mobility HD2600 in the SR MBP so it will play this thing... Full 3D graphics??? In an RTS??? Sounds very demanding. Oh well, it seems CNC3 doesn't take too much, so we'll see.

    Yum Yum! Starcraft 2! Pity I've only played the demo of Starcraft. But it's good that Blizzard likes to port their games to OSX. But... Are they just gonna announce it, to be released in a year or so, or are they actually gonna pop out and release it???

    Oh, and MMORPs Blow. And suck. And should be discontinued immediately.
     
  9. macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2004
    #9
    Sounds like any other RTS released in the last 5 years. Including an ancient game called Warcraft 3. ;)

    --Eric
     
  10. macrumors 68020

    Erasmus

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2006
    Location:
    Australia, Where Omnius can't find me!
    #10
    I suppose in practise, it's no more demanding, but you can't pan around in WC3.

    And I believe CNC3 struggles a bit with the X1600. I mean if you buy a game, you're gonna want to play it with great framerates on the highest graphics settings, right? I mean, whether you CAN or not, that's a different question, to which the answer is hopefully yes.
     
  11. macrumors 68030

    ReanimationLP

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2005
    Location:
    On the moon.
    #11
    I think its Starcraft 2, because lets face it, if they went and announced something else in South Korea, I dont think the Blizzard guys would make it out alive from there. So, I dont think they'd announce anything but SC2 in Korea. Besides, it'd be smart to announce in Korea, where its practically the national sport of the country.
     
  12. macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2004
    #12
    You can tilt the point of view so you're looking out across the ground instead of (mostly) straight down. Basically a first-person view. And yeah, it's useless, except so you can go "look ma, we're in 3D!" ;) Plus you can rotate 90 degrees left or right, which is even more useless.

    Any potential performance problems would be the result of excessive whiz-bangery rather than 3D per se. Although, believe it or not, a lot of people really don't care that much about running on max settings. But personally, the first thing I usually do with a new game is go into preferences and yank all the quality settings as far right as they go....

    --Eric
     
  13. macrumors 68030

    ReanimationLP

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2005
    Location:
    On the moon.
    #13
    If you think CNC3 is hard on a X1600, try playing Company of Heroes.

    That game makes video cards cry in pain, unless they're pretty high-end, then they cringe, unless your Mr. 8800SLI, you just laugh at the tickling.
     
  14. macrumors 68020

    Erasmus

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2006
    Location:
    Australia, Where Omnius can't find me!
    #14
    I disagree that the 3d thing is useless. I haven't played starcraft, but in something like CNC Generals, where there are large buildings, there could always be something hiding out of sight behind a building, waiting for your tanks to roll right into it... Without 3d you're screwed, cut and run with half the tanks that you did have. With 3d, you know it's there, and you can call in an airstrike or something to make it not there. Just one example.

    I will admit that I was a bit too quick to assume that the 3d thing will make the game slower. I believe that RTS are usually not too demanding on the computer, unlike FPS.

    Hmmm, I wonder how Crysis will run on a Mobility HD2600XT? : )
     
  15. macrumors 68030

    ReanimationLP

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2005
    Location:
    On the moon.
    #15
    Crysis is so uber-awesome it'll probably need a SLI 8800 or 2900 setup to run smoothly and look beautiful. :(
     
  16. macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2004
    #16
    Sorry, I meant specifically in Warcraft 3, the tilting/rotating was useless. Not that 3D itself was useless. Especially in a RTS like Homeworld 2, where the playing area is spherical and up/down is as important as left/right/in/out.

    --Eric
     
  17. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2004
    Location:
    Australia
    #17
    Screw starcraft. I want a diablo 3. Honestly, that would be SO cool. Hopefully its not 'too' 3d tho. Something about the two dimensionality i liked of D2.
     
  18. macrumors 6502a

    bowens

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2006
    Location:
    Trenton, FL
    #18
    What?!? Stop whatever you're doing, take a $20 bill and go to the nearest Walmart, Best Buy or other electronics or game store and buy the Starcraft Battlechest. You won't leave your computer for a while.
     
  19. macrumors 68040

    mattscott306

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2007
    #19
    I'll second that. The game's a classic, the demo doesn't really do it justice.
     
  20. macrumors 68040

    Sdashiki

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2005
    Location:
    Behind the lens
    #20
    Millions of Koreans cant be wrong!
     
  21. macrumors 65816

    topgunn

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2004
    Location:
    Texas
    #21
    I am 90% certain it is going to be Starcraft 2, but honestly it really doesn't matter what it is. I will buy whatever they release the day it is released and will likely not leave my computer for a week once I get it home. Blizzard has yet to disappoint me going back as far as Orcs and Humans. I have no reason to believe that this will be any different.
     
  22. macrumors 603

    whooleytoo

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2002
    Location:
    Cork, Ireland.
    #22
    Will Starcraft even work on a current Mac/OS? I'm another who's never tried it - when it came out it was during one of my few periods of not owning a Mac.
     
  23. macrumors 6502a

    Swarmlord

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2006
    #23
    Lol! And I thought that noise from within my computer was the graphics card fan. I didn't realize it was screaming in pain. :)
     
  24. macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2004
    #24
    Yes, it's OS X native. (If not on the CD, then you can download a patch.) It's not Universal, but it works under Rosetta as far as I know, although I seem to remember something about the movies not playing well or something.

    --Eric
     
  25. macrumors Core

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2004
    #25
    i'm certainly interested. a new RTS would be excellent. and i nice change of pace from WoW.
     

Share This Page