New Computers.

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by The General, Mar 26, 2007.

  1. The General macrumors 601

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2006
    #1
    Okay, so I'm selling my MacBook Pro, and getting a white MacBook and a mac pro.

    What is the best way to transfer settings, applications, data, etc?

    Can I just use Carbon Copy Cloner and clone my MBP harddrive to the MacBook? That would be ideal.
     
  2. quigleybc macrumors 68030

    quigleybc

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2005
    Location:
    Beautiful Vancouver British Columbia, Canada
    #2
    That's what I'd do.
     
  3. dpaanlka macrumors 601

    dpaanlka

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2004
    Location:
    Illinois
    #3
    I wouldn't - whose to say there isn't anything specific to the computers on their hard drives?

    Instead, I would use the Migration Assistant program, which transfers your programs, documents, and settings, but not the actual OS itself. It comes with Mac OS X, and uses Firewire cables. Your Mac Pro will actually ask you if you want to do this when you first start it up.
     
  4. Fearless Leader macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2006
    Location:
    Hoosiertown
    #4
    i second dpaanlka. while a carboncopy would work it would be messy.
     
  5. The General thread starter macrumors 601

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2006
    #5
    Oh, I didn't know about this Migration Assistant. Looks like this will do, but can you link me to what kind of cable to get? I've never used Firewire before and I know nothing about it.
     
  6. Multimedia macrumors 603

    Multimedia

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2001
    Location:
    Santa Cruz CA, Silicon Beach
    #6
    6 Pin to 6 Pin FireWire Cables Come FREE With External FW Cases

    It's just a very common 6 pin to 6 pin FireWire cable you can get at RadioShack or an Apple Store or jsut about anywhere they sell computer accessories. The come free with external FW cases too in case you were thinking of buying a case anytime soon to run a big fast drive outside either your MacBook or your Mac Pro. I have about 14 externals haning off my Quad G5.
     

Share This Page