New Core...Again?

Discussion in 'Distributed Computing' started by Goblin2099, Dec 28, 2003.

  1. Goblin2099 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2002
    Location:
    New York City
    #1
    Core 1.53 was the supercore sent to speed up all macs by insane proportions

    Core 1.54 was to fix things up to work with the new client.

    Core 1.55 had "no visible change in it, but an improvement on the science side, with support added for an exciting method which trades some accuracy for a large increase in speed (this won't be noticeable from work unit times, though, as the simulation time covered by a single work unit will be longer in projects using this method). No need to manually delete your current core; whenever the first project assigning units utlizing that method begins, that server will force an update. In relation to units not utilizing that method, the core is unchanged from 1.54. -Guha"

    [04:59:26] *------------------------------*
    [04:59:26] Folding@home Gromacs Core
    [04:59:26] Version 1.56 (December 23, 2003)

    Anybody know what's new? I'm going about 1 minute faster per step (3% speedup), but that might be because of my comp and not a performance update


    (on a sidenote: We're Twenty-One! We're Twenty-One!)
     
  2. MrMacMan macrumors 604

    MrMacMan

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2001
    Location:
    1 Block away from NYC.
    #2
    I'm happy a the We're 21 thing first.

    I've been using this 'new' core for a few days.

    I haven't heard about it yet either...

    Ah well, they will release some core notes.
     
  3. bousozoku Moderator emeritus

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2002
    Location:
    Gone but not forgotten.
    #3
    I didn't notice anything on the Stanford forums about it specifically.

    #20 is coming--31,000+ points to go. :)
     
  4. MacBandit macrumors 604

    MacBandit

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2002
    Location:
    Springfield, OR (Home of the Simpsons)
    #4
    Less then 2 days work at our current rate.

    I looked back through my logs and the same time I got the 1.56 core I got a couple tinker units. Guess that explains my drop in performance for a couple days.
     
  5. Vlade macrumors 6502a

    Vlade

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2003
    Location:
    Meadville, PA
    #5
    It actually slowed down my current unit from about 12:20 per % to about 12:30... odd
     
  6. bousozoku Moderator emeritus

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2002
    Location:
    Gone but not forgotten.
    #6
    You may want to adjust the checkpoint times. The default is 15 minutes, but with client version 3.25, the core was only checkpointing on the whole percent.

    The checkpoint interval can be found in the advanced options of the console client.
     
  7. Vlade macrumors 6502a

    Vlade

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2003
    Location:
    Meadville, PA
    #7
    I have the 4.00 beta, and kept the same checkpoint. I am pretty sure that the program reports being done with frames every 1%, but only writes to files every ABC minutes.
     

Share This Page