New Dock doesn't show open applications?

Discussion in 'OS X Mountain Lion (10.8)' started by saleemyas3, Jul 27, 2012.

  1. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2012
    #1
    When i open up new apps that aren't in my dock, they don't show up in my dock while running. Is there a way to change this?
     
  2. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2012
    #2
    That doesn't sound right. What apps aren't showing?
     
  3. thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2012
    #3
    Any applications that I have installed but not on the dock won't show up when running. example: I don't have safari in my dock, but if i open it, it runs but it doesn't show up on my dock while running.
     
  4. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2008
    Location:
    Sweden
    #4
    Look at the "edge" at the bottom of the Dock, you should see a white square there indicating the open application.
     
  5. thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2012
    #5
    I know that. Im talking about when i open an application that I dont have in the dock. In lion, when I would open an App that i don't have stored on the Dock, the app's icon would show up in the dock and then when i quit the app, it would dissappear
     
  6. macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2011
    Location:
    Las Vegas, NV
  7. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2012
    #7
    Have you tried restarting or running "killall Dock" in terminal? That's not how the dock is supposed to behave.
     
  8. macrumors 68000

    kockgunner

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2007
    Location:
    Vancouver, Canada
    #8
    This happened to me. I just switched back from Bootcamp FWIW. The app doesn't show up in the alt-tab switcher either. For the icons that are already in my dock, when I click them, the app opens but the indicator light doesn't turn on.

    [edit] Fixed after restart
     
  9. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2012
    Location:
    Argentina
    #9
    Hi,
    Same thing happened to me.
    As I have an UPS, I rarely shutdown or reboot my iMac.
    As chrisherbert suggested, I tried 'killall Dock' in terminal. That fixed it!
    So, thanks chrisherbert!

    Cheers!
     
  10. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2005
    #10
    Anyone still having this issue? Restart or terminal command helps, but it happens usually after closing the macbook pro twice.
     
  11. macrumors 603

    heisenberg123

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2010
    Location:
    Hamilton, Ontario
    #11
    not currently on my mac but is there something in Dock Preferences to show running applications in the dock?
     
  12. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2005
    #12
    My Applications show until I close my macbook pro retina 10.8.1 about 2-3 times than they stop showing up in the dock, either the whatever was open looks like it is still open (Freezes up but I can still click the icons), No new ones will show annoying when I open something that isn't in the dock since I can't easily access the item than if I hide it. If I go killall Dock it fixes it, and or Restart but it's usually temporary. 2-3 times a day I have to "Fix" it. I will see if I can do a video but either way they stop bouncing and showing all together.
     
  13. macrumors 68000

    Sylon

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2012
    Location:
    Michigan/Ohio, USA
    #13
    I just had this issue a few minutes ago for the first time. I have 4 apps open, Mail, Tweetbot, Messages and Chrome, and all the lights underneath disappeared. Normally I can see them, but I noticed that they vanished.


    Using Terminal, typing "killall Dock" fixes the issue.
     
  14. macrumors 65816

    Drew017

    Joined:
    May 29, 2011
    Location:
    East coast, USA
    #14
    try deleting the com.apple.dock.plist file. (located in Users/your username/library/preferences) This will reset all of your dock settings and may fix your problem
     
  15. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2005
    #15
    think the latest updates efi and 10.8.2 fixed this for me. I don't know which because I did both at the same time.
     
  16. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2009
    #16
    I had this issue and it turned out that the vertical positioning on my second monitor wasn't right - the indicator lights were off screen! Doh!
     

Share This Page