New External HDD, what do i need to do?

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by SaleenS351, Jan 18, 2006.

  1. SaleenS351 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2004
    Location:
    California
    #1
    I just purchased a 250GB G-drive External HDD. It didn't come with any software or anything. I purchased it to use for video editing and working with imovie and backing other various files. Is there anything I need to do or is it ready to go out of the box? Thanks in advance.
     
  2. Dopeyman macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2005
    Location:
    Los Angeles!
    #2
    Once it's hooked up, most likely a window will pop up saying that an unrecognizable media has been inserted... At that point, just click on the Erase/Format button. Then it should load up Disk Utility.. Just initialize the drive and you're all set....
     
  3. bigandy macrumors G3

    bigandy

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2004
    Location:
    Murka
    #3
    if you're doing video work and it's not FireWire, use with caution. my USB2 drive used to kill my video. i got a FW caddy for it and it was fine after that...
     
  4. dops7107 macrumors 6502a

    dops7107

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2005
    Location:
    Perth, Oztrailya
    #4
    It might be worth making a small partition (about 20 gigs perhaps) to put OS X on, so you can use it as a bootable drive in case your main internal drive fails. I note that you have more than one computer however, so it might not be so crucial. Still handy to have in case you need to rescue another computer - someone else's, for example.
     
  5. SaleenS351 thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2004
    Location:
    California
    #5
    It's a firewire 800 so the USB isnt an issue. When I turn it onht e drive automatically mounts to the desktop does this mean that I need to do nothing?

    Edit: when i want to put video on my computer to edit in imove should i plug the camera directly into the external HDD or to the computer then save to the External one?
     
  6. dops7107 macrumors 6502a

    dops7107

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2005
    Location:
    Perth, Oztrailya
    #6
    You might want to reformat it into HFS+ (use Disk Utility) for better performance and storage capacity. Unless you want to share it with Windows machines as well. It is probably already formatted in FAT32 but you can check through Disk Utility.

    Um, not too sure about this one, but plugging directly into the computer seems more sensible to me. I don't think plugging it into the HD will automatically save it there; you still have to instruct the OS to save it.
     
  7. CanadaRAM macrumors G5

    CanadaRAM

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2004
    Location:
    On the Left Coast - Victoria BC Canada
    #7
    Plug the camera into the computer directly and capture to the INTERNAL drive. Move the files to the external drive later for storage/working.

    THe Firewire 400 and 800 ports share the same firewire controller. If you capture to a Firewire drive, you are doubling the data stream through the FW controller chip. Capturing to SATA or IDE internal drives means only one trip through the FW controller, and fewer possibilities of trouble.
     
  8. SaleenS351 thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2004
    Location:
    California
    #8
    sorry to be a pain but what exactly is HFS and FAT32?
     
  9. kwajaln macrumors 6502

    kwajaln

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2004
    Location:
    CHICAGO!
    #9
    Your iBook has Help menus for a reason. I recently learned the answers to your questions when I read those same Help menus when I got my 500GB external. Amazing the info that's there.
     
  10. SaleenS351 thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2004
    Location:
    California
    #10
    Thanks for the tip
     

Share This Page