New fix for Apogee Duet under OSX Lion

Discussion in 'Digital Audio' started by VoicOfReason, Jul 25, 2011.

  1. macrumors newbie

    Jul 19, 2008
    I have read the fixes so far for the Apogee Duet under OSX Lion, e.g. killing off "duetDaemon", etc.

    Here's a new one. Disconnect the duet, run the official uninstaller, and let it reboot. Then plug-in the Duet and re-select it as output device. Now, the Duet seems to work just fine and no killing of processes is needed. Of course, you can't go in and run Maestro b/c it doesn't exist, but when I killed of duetDaemon before it was annoying, it still didn't allow me to use the keyboard volume control for the Duet, and I was getting crackling audio with another drive running off the same firewire port. With THIS method (uninstalling the software) it at least works and you get volume control back.

    Try it out and let me know what you think!

    Temporary solution until August, at least.
  2. thread starter macrumors newbie

    Jul 19, 2008
    Almost forgot.

    ... almost forgot: the green light will be blinking and you need to hold down the knob to un-mute initially.
  3. macrumors regular


    Apr 17, 2011
    Does this still allow you to choose different inputs though, without having Maestro? What about recording? Or is this just working for audio playback?

    If it works decent I'll add it to the original thread as another option.
  4. macrumors regular

    Jul 21, 2011
    North Carolina
    Interesting...unfortunately in my case I need to be able to switch Phantom and line/ I need the Maestro software.
  5. thread starter macrumors newbie

    Jul 19, 2008
    You can still hit the Duet dial to mute (if held down) and also to change inputs (if held pressed briefly). So, yes, I can verify this.
  6. macrumors newbie

    Jul 29, 2011
    It works well here but it is impossible to switch between Instrument and Mic for each input without Maestro...
  7. vkt
    macrumors newbie

    Oct 17, 2008
    Portland, OR
  8. macrumors newbie

    Aug 14, 2011
    Well, this is kinda obvious, because Duet doesn't need any drivers to work as a generic Fire-Wire audio output device. For the inputs, however, you do need those drivers. Without them, you won't be able hear your electric guitar or mic.

Share This Page