New Folder Here

Discussion in 'Distributed Computing' started by iMatt mini, Mar 1, 2005.

  1. iMatt mini macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2005
    Location:
    Central New Jersey
    #1
    I have a whole dedicated PC to this type of stuff, I know, PC ugh. :rolleyes:

    The only thing the PC has running usually is something else like this and now folding. Should get some high points. :D
     
  2. iMatt mini thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2005
    Location:
    Central New Jersey
    #2
    Stupid PC, it keeps shutting down the program every time I try to click into it... hmmph :mad:
     
  3. atszyman macrumors 68020

    atszyman

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2003
    Location:
    The Dallas 'burbs
    #3
    Are you going to it via the Start menu? Check your system tray for a red gear looking icon near the clock, double clicking the gear will bring up the gui, right clicking will bring up a menu with options. If you set the program to run at startup it should be there. Once a client is running it will not launch a new one. Of course an error message would be nice rather than just shutting down.
     
  4. iMatt mini thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2005
    Location:
    Central New Jersey
    #4
    No, whenever I click something within the program itself, using the GUI I get an error and it closes.
     
  5. atszyman macrumors 68020

    atszyman

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2003
    Location:
    The Dallas 'burbs
    #5
    What is the error that you are seeing? If it happening too fast try downloading and running the console app so you can make the command prompt stay up until you have a chance to catch the error.
     
  6. stubeeef macrumors 68030

    stubeeef

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2004
    #6
    Which winblows ver.?

    Ether way, welcome, and "eat my dust"!!!!! :p

    It seems most of the members of the 1600 listed probably need to remember they were doing this, or clear off. No matter what you will move up fast! I am using on dell laptop, xp pro, has a "gear" looking red icom bottom right. Double click as previously said, and the gui pops up! And right click as said works to mess with it!
     
  7. qzak macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2005
    #7
    sorry for the newbie question, but new to this stuff.. what is folding? what points are you talking about?
     
  8. wdlove macrumors P6

    wdlove

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2002
    #8
    Folding is for disease research, your computer is used to do calculations, its gene research. The points go to assist MacRumors in mataining out status, trying to regain our number 20 spot. The points also will show up toward your status as a member of our team.

    Thank you for your interest. Look forward to both of you being a member of our team.

    http://forums.macrumors.com/showthread.php?t=21908
     
  9. iMatt mini thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2005
    Location:
    Central New Jersey
    #9
    No, Everytime I click anything I get those stupid windows errors that this program had to close. It's a generic error message, no specific errors.
     
  10. atszyman macrumors 68020

    atszyman

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2003
    Location:
    The Dallas 'burbs
    #10
    Does the client work until you try to do something?

    Have you tried the console client? It should help you earn more points since it doesn't waste precious processor cycles drawing pretty pictures.
     

Share This Page