New G4 enclosure

Discussion in 'Hardware Rumors' started by Prozy.G3, Jul 9, 2001.

  1. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2001
  2. macrumors 68030

    mnkeybsness

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2001
    Location:
    Moneyapolis, Minnesota
    #2
    are you an idiot

    quad processor-no one even needs something like that even if it were possible.
     
  3. macrumors member

    Evergreen

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2001
    #3
    very useful

    The more power the better. Try rendering out an animation with radiosity on a single 833 and a quad 833, then tell me you don't need the quad.
     
  4. arn
    macrumors god

    arn

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2001
    #4
    a Quad-G4 should be possible... whether you or I need such a beast is an individual decision.

    It's not completely out there... I think there were quad machines back in the day... as add-on boards... I think Daystar perhaps?

    arn
     
  5. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2001
    Location:
    Holladay, UT
    #5
    Good idea for animators and filming pros but consumers tend to not need that much power. Some do, but not all.
     
  6. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2001
    #6
    neat idea.... but not this MacWorld though....
     
  7. macrumors 68030

    mnkeybsness

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2001
    Location:
    Moneyapolis, Minnesota
    #7
    no, seriously-4 g4 processors can't be put together, it's not possible
     
  8. macrumors 68030

    mnkeybsness

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2001
    Location:
    Moneyapolis, Minnesota
    #8
    but i must admit, that casing is much better looking than the other rumor pictures.
     
  9. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2001
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    #9
    Quad is possible

    Accoridng to an Apple Techie friend, Quad Processors are possible on the G4, However if they did offer it, it would be Quad 466's to save on cost.
     
  10. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2001
    Location:
    Dayton, OH
    #10
    How could you doubt monkeybusiness... it's so obvious he is of higher understanding than us... do you think he's Jesus?

    It's okay to be wrong big guy. The G4 processor is capable of being crossbared in multiples of two according to the tech sheet from Motorola.
     
  11. macrumors 68030

    mnkeybsness

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2001
    Location:
    Moneyapolis, Minnesota
    #11
    i am not jesus

    i am the great cornholio. you will bow down before the almighty bunghole.

    seriously though-who really NEEDS a quad??
     
  12. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2001
    Location:
    Dayton, OH
    #12
    Yeah, I liked Beevis & Butthead too, then I started Junior High.

    I need a Quad G4. I edit a lot of digital video using programs like Final Cut Pro 2.0 which can take advantage of multiple processors. The faster I get a job done, the more money I can make. With a Quad G4, rendering jobs that would take a minute or two on my G3s or a minute on my G4, would take a matter of seconds.

    I'm not saying there's a huge market for quads, but I'm saying is there's a good number of digital businesspeople/artists like me who could use the oomph, and more importantly for Apple, would be willing to pay for it.
     
  13. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2001
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    #13
    Beavis and Monkey Business

    How the hell did we get from quad processors too Beavis and Butthead???

    Get a life Monkey boy

    Who needs quads? The entire Apple high-end market would. Thats why we sell to "Creative Professionals". Try running Final Cut 2 and getting fast results on a single processor and you may understand why Quads would be good.
     
  14. macrumors 68030

    mnkeybsness

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2001
    Location:
    Moneyapolis, Minnesota
    #14
    sorry about the b&b-h thing, it was late

    but jobs isn't that dumb-sure it would be could for extreme pros, but stevie knows that the cost of developing the quads would top the sales of them, leaving our good buddy broke and us with no good computers-tear :'(
     
  15. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2001
    Location:
    Dayton, OH
    #15
    Good point...provisionally.

    One must look not far back into the history of Apple to the PowerPC roll out days of the mid-nineties. Apple predicted that the more entry-level 68k-based machines would be more popular than the latest 601-based machines, so it made a huge supply of 68k machines and a smaller one of 601.

    When the fall buying season rolled around, Apple was stuck with warehouses full of cheap computers no one wanted anything to do with, and one of the greatest PowerMac shortages of all time.

    I'm willing to put money on the fact that there are a bunch of people like me with enough pent-up demand for ultra high-performance computers around the $5000 dollar mark.

    A limited supply of these machines would be profitable. With the pending release of Puma, they could be real screamers.
     
  16. macrumors 65816

    evildead

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2001
    Location:
    WestCost, USA
    #16
    I have heard...

    I have heard that Apple well come out with a rack mount server that well boast upto 4 CPU's I have read that 4 is possible and that OS X Server 2.0 well Support them and take full advantage of them. With Apple's new OS's being UNIX based... this is a really good move. I am a server Admin. I would love to see Apple servers in my racks next to my Sun Servers. Or better yet... Im place of them. They would make one hell of a Carracho server!!
     

Share This Page