New Hard Drive Upgrade

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by elhefe, Dec 23, 2005.

  1. elhefe macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2005
    #1
    I have a G5 (1.6GHz) and have a new hard drive. What I want to do, is "Ghost" the old onto the new, and make the new drive the main OS drive and the old drive a data drive. I would rather not have to install Mac OS X on the new drive, but would rather "image" it from the old drive. Is there a way to do so and how?

    Thanks...
     
  2. grapes911 Moderator emeritus

    grapes911

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2003
    Location:
    Citizens Bank Park
    #2
    Carbon Copy Cloner or SuperDuper will both do this. You can search this forum or google for more info.
     
  3. alexstein macrumors 6502a

    alexstein

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2004
    #3
    There are several application that can do this task. Two come to mind right now. You can search version tracker for :

    1. super duper

    2. carbon copy cloner

    I use super duper and it works like a charm never used carbon copy but a lots of people here use it.
     
  4. alexstein macrumors 6502a

    alexstein

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2004
  5. SmurfBoxMasta macrumors 65816

    SmurfBoxMasta

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2005
    Location:
    I'm only really here at night.
    #5
    Ghost, bost, trost....Nortonspeak for peecee crap app.......
    forget it NOW.....
    before it comes to haunt you :)

    use the apps listed already. On Macs, it's called "cloning" :D
     
  6. elhefe thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2005
    #6
    yep that did it!

    Thanks, Carbon copy clone did the job...
     
  7. p0intblank macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2005
    Location:
    New Jersey
    #7
    I was just about to create a similar thread actually, but why not just post it in here? :) I'm in a similar situation, but mine is a USB external disk (Western Digital 160 GB). I literally only have about 4 GB of free space on my main drive (see sig for specs) and need to clear up some space. I would like to clone this drive onto my new external drive, but I also want to use it as my boot drive. But is that possible with USB? I read that it is with FireWire, so I'm not sure. If I can't boot from it, that's okay. As long as I can get all my music/photos/etc. files onto the other drive, which is as easy as dragging and dropping, correct?

    Thanks for the help and happy holidays! :D
     
  8. grapes911 Moderator emeritus

    grapes911

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2003
    Location:
    Citizens Bank Park
    #8
    You cannot boot via USB. You can still clone the drive to USB for a full backup, but it will not be bootable.
     

Share This Page