New hard drive

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by Concussion, Jul 7, 2005.

  1. Concussion macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2005
    #1
    I just got a new SATA hard drive for my G5. I installed it and configured it, so i see the icon on my desktop. But when i drag files to it they are copied rather then movied to the hard drive. Is there a way to make my new hard drive act just like my original one, so that when i drag files to it they are movied there rather then copied?
    From what i've heard, because it's SATA i don't need to change it to slave. Any help would be great, thankx :confused:
     
  2. michaelrjohnson macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2000
    Location:
    54140
    #2
    Right now, it's just another drive.

    I believe this kind of behavior is supplied by mapping both your drives into a RAID array. That would make them become one "seamless" drive. I think you have to wipe both drives in order to accomplish setting up the array. But I am not an expert. Check out what RAID can do for you.
     
  3. jimsowden macrumors 68000

    jimsowden

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2003
    Location:
    NY
    #3
    If you hold down command and drag it, then the original will be deleted, and only the copy will remain on the new hd.
     
  4. Concussion thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2005
    #4
    Thanks for the feedback. Is there some way to make all the files i drag to the new hard drive have the command held down with out physicly doing it. Some script or setting i can change? I am just kind of being lazy but it would be nice if i didn't have to hold command for all the files i add :rolleyes:
     
  5. jimsowden macrumors 68000

    jimsowden

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2003
    Location:
    NY
    #5
    Not really, that's core functionality of the OS. the easiest way would be to select all the files you want if possible (shift, or however) and then just do it once.
     

Share This Page