New HD... Ethernet Not Working?

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by mjstew33, Aug 18, 2006.

  1. mjstew33 macrumors 601

    mjstew33

    Joined:
    May 29, 2005
    Location:
    Illinois
    #1
    Here's a question taht I wonder if you'd know.

    Well, here's the situation. I got my MacBook and then there was a stripped screw and CompUSA replaced it with a new MacBook and put the hard drive from the old one into the new one, and the Ethernet doesn't work. I don't want to reinstall the OS, and I was wondering - could the HD be looking for the old Ethernet ID or something like that and refusing to allow it to connect to the internet with the ethernet port I have? So if I wiped the HD it would pick up the new Ethernet ID? I have no idea. :O

    The thing recognizes it and everything, it's just not working.

    If a reinstall of the OS won't work, I'll get it replaced tomorrow.

    EDIT: I was never able to see if it worked in the first place.
     
  2. HckySo macrumors 6502

    HckySo

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2006
    Location:
    turn around
    #2
    Did you try rebooting the router, renewing theDHCP, or emptying your cache?
     
  3. jsw Moderator emeritus

    jsw

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2004
    Location:
    Andover, MA
    #3
    I suspect the ethernet might not be working. I don't see how swapping disks would cause it to break. If you go into System Preferences...->Network, and you have an ethernet cable plugged in, does it give you any additional information?
     
  4. skoker macrumors 68000

    skoker

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2005
    #4
    No way reinstalling will help unless it's some freak thing. The hard drive probably doesn't even know what your Ethernet ID is (system profiler pulls that directly from the logic board)
     
  5. mjstew33 thread starter macrumors 601

    mjstew33

    Joined:
    May 29, 2005
    Location:
    Illinois
    #5
    No more detailed information. Look at attached picture.

    Any more ideas?

    And, VERY interestingly, I guess I have an airport card with A / B / G capabilities. :D
     

    Attached Files:

Share This Page