new HD formatting: what format is it?

Discussion in 'Macintosh Computers' started by jxyama, Oct 21, 2004.

  1. jxyama macrumors 68040

    jxyama

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2003
    #1
    i just got a Lacie 160 GB HD... on a piece of paper, it said that the HD was pre-formatted for plug and play use for "Windows 98, 2K, XP and Mac OS 9.x" but that "Mac OS 10.x" would need to use disk utility to re-format.

    naturally, i just plugged it in and it mounts fine, with 160 GB capacity on my panther. since i wasn't prompted to reformat, i assume i could probably plug this into a windows machine and it will probably mount as well.

    i thought Mac couldn't read NTSC and fat32 can't use more than 120 GB partition? (or something like that?) so i'm wondering what format it's in... i'll probably end up setting up partitions so it will be reformatted into HFS+ anyway, but was just curious.
     
  2. edesignuk Moderator emeritus

    edesignuk

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2002
    Location:
    London, England
    #2
    That's a video format, NTFS is the one you're after ;)
     
  3. jxyama thread starter macrumors 68040

    jxyama

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2003
    #3
    ah yes, my bad... hang over from researching about the eyeTV... :D
     
  4. yellow Moderator emeritus

    yellow

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2003
    Location:
    Portland, OR
    #4
    The mac can read NTFS just fine, 10.3.5 has "limited writing" capabilities to an NTFS volume.
     
  5. AdamR01 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2003
    #5
    I didn't know that! Thats really cool. Is there anything special you need to do to turn it on?

    EDIT: Oh and will remounting the drive under Windows tell you that the filesystem is dirty?
     
  6. jxyama thread starter macrumors 68040

    jxyama

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2003
    #6
    oh. hmm, i guess i didn't try writing on the disk... i'll do that when i get home today.
     
  7. yellow Moderator emeritus

    yellow

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2003
    Location:
    Portland, OR
    #7
    Nope. Simply updating to 10.3.5 takes care of it.
     

Share This Page