New here.... cant copy dvd's

Discussion in 'Digital Video' started by iamtheone, Jan 21, 2006.

  1. iamtheone macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2006
    #1
    Hi everyone. I'm new here and need some help.

    I've reading through past threads trying to figure out how to copy my dvd's. I own teh dvd's and want to make my own back-ups. I'm unsure of the legality so I hope I can ask questions and get answers.

    i have a G4 MDD W/ superdrive. I've got Toast 6 titanium and I recently downloaded MTR. I tried using these apps to copy my dvd but it did not work. As I was trying to record in toast I got this "Could not record the disc because there is a problem with source material. Result Code=18774"

    I did RIP in MTR with region 1.

    Any thoughts
     
  2. Dr. Dastardly macrumors 65816

    Dr. Dastardly

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2004
    Location:
    I live in a giant bucket!
    #2
    This usually means that you are dragging in a VIDEO_TS folder into the Video Tab of Toast. Toast will try and encode the folder. A VIDEO_TS folder is already encoded and should not be re-encoded.

    How are you using toast, are you just dragging the file to the DVD or are you trying to "make a using Video_TS"? Also is the the superdirve dual layer or just single?
     
  3. iamtheone thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2006
    #3
    Thanks Dr.

    I don't lnow if the superdrive is singal or dual. How can I find out?

    In Toast I dragged the video_ts file into the video section of toast, The DVD-Video is checked as is the NTSC and Creat DVD Menu. I did not fint "make a using video_ts"
     
  4. 3dit3r macrumors member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2005
    #4
    Don't use the Video tab in Toast. If you want your DVD to play with menus that came with the original DVD, use the Data tab. Check the Advanced tab on the left, then check the circle with DVD-ROM (UDF) next to it. Drag your Video_TS folder into the big window. Then burn.
     
  5. iamtheone thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2006
    #5
    I'm trying that right now. Says not enough space cuz there is 5.5G needed and only 4.4 available. The file states thats its only 4.3 under the get info information.

    Should I check the compressed circle?
     
  6. rickvanr macrumors 68040

    rickvanr

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2002
    Location:
    Brockville
    #6
    I'd suggest upgrading to Toast 7, or getting a copy of DVD2OneX or a similar app.
     
  7. hotwire132002 macrumors 65816

    hotwire132002

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2004
    Location:
    Cadillac, MI
    #7
    I would assume single, as he's on a G4. The dual-layer SuperDrives came out a couple generations into the G5s.
     
  8. iamtheone thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2006
    #8
    I think upgrading is the best and only option. I'll do all this when I add more RAM and upgrade to Tiger.,

    Thanks all for your help.
     
  9. jmufellow macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2005
    #9
  10. rickvanr macrumors 68040

    rickvanr

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2002
    Location:
    Brockville
    #10
  11. maxterpiece macrumors 6502a

    maxterpiece

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2003
    #11
    yeah get popcorn at roxio.com. It's $50 and it works great. It will compress down your ripped dvd so that it fits on a single layer DVD. It will still look great. You won't be able to perceive a difference unless you're TV is super fancy.
     

Share This Page