New icon in the taskbar? All of the sudden I´ve got a "Close SuperDrive" icon?

Discussion in 'Mac OS X 10.3 (Panther) Discussion' started by jevel, Dec 28, 2003.

  1. jevel macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2003
    #1
    What is this, and even more important; why do I have it? :confused:

    -KJ (new to Mac...)
     
  2. snickelfritz macrumors 65816

    snickelfritz

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2003
    Location:
    Tucson AZ
  3. Wes macrumors 68020

    Wes

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2001
    Location:
    London
    #3
    The task bar is the thing at the top of the screen, you don't need the eject option up there you can get rid of it by:
    Hold the command key (Apple), click on the icon drag it out, release the button, release the command(Apple) key.
     
  4. zellin macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2003
    Location:
    Phoenix, AZ
    #4
    He means the menu bar. And that isn't a "close superdrive", it's an "eject" insert a disc and you will see its true meaning.
     
  5. jevel thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2003
    #5
    Menu bar or whatever it´s called. It´s the bar at the top with different icons in the right corner.

    I´ve got an eject icon, that´s right, but if I leave the SuperDrive empty and click it, I get a drop down menu labelled "Close SuperDrive (F12)".

    My question was; why has it suddenly appeared? I haven´t changed anything here?

    -KJ
     
  6. titaniumducky macrumors 6502a

    titaniumducky

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2003
    #6
    It's a built in .menu file. Someone may have double-clicked the file, or enabled an option somewhere.
     
  7. jevel thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2003
    #7
    And now for the final question; How do I get rid of it? I don´t need it, and I don´t like my menubar cluttered.

    -KJ
     
  8. Wes macrumors 68020

    Wes

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2001
    Location:
    London
    #8
    As in my post above:

    "You can get rid of it by:
    Hold the command key (Apple), click on the icon drag it out, release the mouse button, release the command(Apple) key."
     
  9. Powerbook G5 macrumors 68040

    Powerbook G5

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2003
    Location:
    St Augustine, FL
    #9
    I believe a taskbar is what is at the lower right hand corner of Windows' start menu/application bar or whatever that would be called. And yes, just command drag the icon off of the menu bar.
     
  10. jevel thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2003
    #10
    Didn´t see that first post, saw this one, and it worked like charm! Thanks, W!

    -KJ
     
  11. jevel thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2003
    #11
    And as this is solved, a new problem... I made a tarball with all my documents (.tar archive) on my old laptop, and moved it via an external drive onto this PB. As I was trying to move it now, I got the "Something is using this file, are you sure you want to move it? This may cause problems with the application using the file."

    I checked and rechecked, and nothing other than Finder was running. I restarted the computer, and still the same error. I thought what the heck, and pressed "Yes" to forcemove it, and Wham! The file is no longer in the old directory, and not in the new directory. I´ve checked the recycle bin, and no go.

    What happened, and where is my work?

    -KJ :confused:
     
  12. zellin macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2003
    Location:
    Phoenix, AZ
    #12
    Wow, I can tell you are a recent switcher. From the "taskbar" to the "recycle bin".
    Was your old laptop a Mac? I haven't seen any message like that on X (maybe it was in 9, but I haven't used 9 in FOREVER!!!)
    Did you check what was visible or did you check all processes?
     
  13. jevel thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2003
    #13
    Yup. A recent switcher. I´m on Panther as stated above, and I have the Norwegian version, so I try to translate "on the fly". As long as you get what I´m referring to, it´s OK.

    My old laptop was an IBM, also as stated above. :)

    I did a ps -aux and a top to see if I could find any hanging apps, but no go.

    Anyone have an idea?

    -KJ
     

Share This Page