New iMac 24" Airport Problem

Discussion in 'iMac' started by amf666, Oct 1, 2006.

  1. amf666 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2005
    #1
    Hi. Have been running a 20" 2.0 Ghz intel core duo with my netgear wireless router/modem for a couple of months at speeds I've been more than happy with. Upgraded today to a core 2 duo 24" and have it set up running fine apart from the built in airport. The signal meter is only showing half strength and the transfer speeds are pathetic. Bear in mind the two mac's are sitting next to each other on the same desk. The older one runs well, the new one runs like a dog with three legs. Any fixes for this?
     
  2. mad jew Moderator emeritus

    mad jew

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2004
    Location:
    Adelaide, Australia
    #2
    Is the first one blocking the second one? Have you tried changing broadcast channels on the router? :)
     
  3. bossass macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2006
    #3
    Try turning on/off "interface robustness" under the airport symbol dropdown menu.
     
  4. generik macrumors 601

    generik

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2005
    Location:
    Minitrue
    #4
    A bit OT but is there a way to make macs automatically reconnect to a wireless network when they get dropped?
     
  5. sokrates macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    #5
    don't they usually do that? my macbook is always connected, it appears as if it never disconnects so I would think that it simply reconnects whenever the connection gets lost.
     

Share This Page