New iMac 27' Boot Time?

Discussion in 'iMac' started by drkmnx, Jan 31, 2013.

  1. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2013
    #1
    I got my new iMac 27' with fusion drive.
    Everything looks great expect booting time.
    The booting time is about 40 sec.
    Is it normal or not ?
     
  2. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2013
    #2
    wait for others to re but I remembe that the base 21,5 no fusion should boot in 35 seconds (or maybe I am confused)...
     
  3. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2012
    Location:
    Isle of Man
    #3
    Definitely not normal. Mine boots in <10 secs, super fast and no crawl once it hits the desktop.
     
  4. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2010
    #4
    I has a similar issue with istat installed, once I uninstalled it, my quick boot times were back. I would check your "boot up" software if you have any? Also a external drive might hinder the speed as well.
     
  5. macrumors 6502

    JoshMKB24

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2013
    Location:
    Midwest
    #5
    What are you considering boot time? Are you considering the time from pressing the power button to when it turns on, or from the time you turn on the power button to when it asks for user password to log in? If its the 1st one then yeah thats really slow, but from when I turn it on or restart and it gets to user login screen 40 seconds sounds about right?
     
  6. macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2005
    #6
    Takes 4 sec to get to the apple and 6.5 sec to get to desktop. 3tb fusion 3.4 i7

    Basically it screams.
     
  7. macrumors 6502a

    smoking monkey

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2008
    Location:
    Japan
    #7
    Yeah, mine is super fast as well. I used to turn my computer on, go away, grab a drink, get a back rub, then watch the wife make me a sandwich. When I returned it might just have been ready. BUT now, I barely got time to readjust the underpants wedgie that my chair so lovingly gives me.
     
  8. macrumors regular

    Megaoctane

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2012
    Location:
    Norway
    #8
    Check what program's you have installed lately, or try to re-install OS.
    I take it you checked the specs that you really got a fusion drive, and not just the regular HDD. Mistakes can happen..
     
  9. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2013
    #9
    I have the same problem as well. sometimes it is fast and other times very slow in booting up.

    Going to reinstall osx and see what happens then
     
  10. macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2009
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    #10
    Not normal, mine boots in under 12 secs consistently.
     
  11. macrumors 6502a

    Spectrum

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Location:
    UK
    #11
    On my MBPro I had a slow startup caused by the start up disk not being selected correctly.

    Go to System Prefs > Startup Disk.

    Make sure you have the correct HD highlighted.
     
  12. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2013
    #12
    Thanks Spectrum shall also try that out.
     
  13. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2013
    #13
    This is not right

    That does not sound right at all, to put things into perspective (I'm waiting for my iMac) my Macbook Air boots in around 8 seconds including unlocking the disk - I never even see the wheel. My Windows 8 PC off SSD boots in around 15 seconds so 40 seconds seems unbelievable to me.

    Like everyone has said, remove any programs you have installed which may have background processes running which could cause this. Otherwise, make yourself a Genius Appointment and take it up with Apple.
     
  14. thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2013
    #14
    yeah i did like this and now
    booting time 14 sec

    ----------

    this is first booting time i did not install any programs
     
  15. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2013
    #15
    Should OSX actually not pick this up automatically? I am going to try it out when I get home tonight, but I thought OSX should be smart enough to automatically place the OS in fusion drive

     
  16. macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2009
    #16
    That's not the issue. Yes the OS will be on the SSD portion of the Fusion drive. The problem, is if an incorrect drive (or no drive) is selected as the Start up disk in the Start up disk preferences, then the EFI has to check all of the drives attached to your computer and determine which one has a valid OS and then boot from there. If it has a drive ear marked as the boot, then it just goes straight to that and boots. You can tell when this is a problem, because it just sits at the gray screen at bootup for about 30 seconds....
     
  17. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2013
    #17
    You have paid a lot of money for this machine, thus I suggest you complain to Apple (I know I would). Perosnally, I would be particularly concerned as the problem could deteriorate the health of the whole machine in the long run and it shouldn't be there.
     
  18. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2013
    #18
    Ok, that is clear. But does benjaminfoden have a point? Might there be something wrong (in the long run) and that the solution provided is just a (quick) fix?
     
  19. macrumors member

    jtrainor56

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2010
    Location:
    Sinking Spring, Pennsylvania
    #19
    New i7 with 3TB fusion abt 15 seconds.... which for me it could take 60 seconds, it's still faster then the Lenovo stinkpad I have at work. From startup loading all my apps takes about 12 minutes!
     
  20. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2013
    #20
    Sad to say this does not work for me. Should I see more than Macintosh HD OS X, 10.8.2? Going to re-install OSX and see what happens then
     
  21. macrumors 6502a

    Spectrum

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Location:
    UK
    #21


    Glad to hear it worked. Rarely my setting gets forgotten (but I do have 3 possible OS's/drives to boot from...)

    Sorry to hear it didn't work. Either reinstall, or make a clone of your system to a partition on the same drive (or a FW external), select that and test.

    ...Actually, I'm not sure how the Fusion drive behaves when you partition it...Is it even possible to do so? How does it decide which partition is on which drive (SSD vs HD)?

    I'd be interested to know...not that I have a fusion drive...yet.
     
  22. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2013
    #22
    Well it is working now far better. Most of the times under the 20 sec :). What I did was a hard reset. CMD +P + R just before the Apple logo shows up when the computer starts up. Make sure you use a cabled keyboard, because the bluetooth is not fast enough.

    I am pretty happy now :)
     
  23. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2013
    #23
    I just setup my new 27" iMac with a Fusion drive. My Boot times are horrible. It takes 2 1/2 minutes from the time I push the power button to when the login prompt appears. I measure these with my watch (format "minute:second").

    Time Delta Event
    0:00 0:00 Pushed start button
    0:04 0:04 Chimes ring and grey screen appears
    1:19 1:15 Flashing globe appears
    2:21 1:02 Apple icon appears
    2:30 0:09 Login prompt appears

    I don't think this is from any software I have loaded. When I first booted it up after taking it out the box, it took such a long time to start the startup assistant that I thought it was hung. It eventually started with the flashing globe, something I've never seen before (is this tied to location services?).

    I did have the memory upgraded to 24 GB by the store where I bought it. So, they must have turned it on to test that, but somehow restored it to the factory state.

    Any ideas?
     
  24. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2012
    #24
    something is definitely not right. it should not take more than 20 seconds . I believe 16 is the norm.
     
  25. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2013
    #25
    Solved it, thanks to the ideas on this forum.

    To test the ram, the store must have set the startup disk to an external disk. When I went into the "Startup Disk" preference screen, nothing was selected. I selected "Macintosh HD" and tried it again. This time it took around 16 seconds from the time I pushed the button to the time it prompted for my login. There was no flashing globe intermediate step.

    Thanks forum.
     

Share This Page