New iMac came today, I'm lost!

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by seh80, Sep 19, 2006.

  1. seh80 macrumors 6502

    seh80

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2005
    Location:
    Chicago, IL USA
    #1
    Today, my new core 2 duo iMac came to replace my G4 Mini.

    Last night, I used SuperDuper to put the contents of the Mini on my NewerTech Mini Stack. This worked perfectly.

    Now I tried to boot from the Mini Stack, but it wont allow it. I already returned the Mini to it's factory defaults so I can give it as new to the new owner.

    I know I can drag files from the mounted Mini Stack, but I would really like to use SuperDuper to put everything on the iMac as it was on the Mini. Is this impossible? Is this a matter of PPC stuff not playing well with Intel?

    I DID search before posting, but I couldn't find anything. Thanks for any help!!
     
  2. paradillon macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2004
    #2
    Migration Assistant?

    Don't know if you have tried the migration assistant in the utilities folder or not, maybe you have rule that out for some reason. It is apples solution. :)
     
  3. Macky-Mac macrumors 68030

    Macky-Mac

    Joined:
    May 18, 2004
    #3
    did you connect the ministack using firewire? IIRC the imac wont boot from an external using usb
     
  4. seh80 thread starter macrumors 6502

    seh80

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2005
    Location:
    Chicago, IL USA
    #4
    I'm not a fan of the migration assistant, it was very buggy and left me with more problems than it was worth. I am connected via firewire. Thank you both for your replies.
     
  5. Macky-Mac macrumors 68030

    Macky-Mac

    Joined:
    May 18, 2004
    #5
    hmmm, fishing for stuff that might be the issue; the system software that's on the ministack, did you put it there from the imac or the mini? it would need to be from the imac so it has the intel stuff
     
  6. laidbackliam macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2006
    #6
    if the os is installed using a ppc mac, then you can't boot from an intel mac with that.
     
  7. seh80 thread starter macrumors 6502

    seh80

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2005
    Location:
    Chicago, IL USA
    #7
    Well that makes sense! I'm unsure of what to do now though. Can I somehow get just the OS off of the external and leave everything else alone? Or could I add the intel version of os x to the hd (without wiping it out first), boot off of it, and get my files like that? Or since they were saved in the ppc save, will I just not be able to do the total SuperDuper putting back of my stuff? I'm sorry for all of the stupid questions, this is just totally new ground for me.
     
  8. Texas04 macrumors 6502a

    Texas04

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2005
    Location:
    Texas
    #8
    uhh i was conused by your last post... but

    If on your ministack you have a PPC version of OSX than im not sure. If you boot your intel mac w/ its internal HD, than connect the mini stack, and than "udpate" the OS w/ the Intel Version of OS X to the ministack, it might work... might. And your files should be just fine.

    This is in theory. Ive never tried so... its new ground for me to.
     
  9. treblah macrumors 65816

    treblah

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2003
    Location:
    29680
    #9
    I couldn't tell if you had tried it this time or in the past but I would just use Migration Assistant.

    I had no problems going from my iBook to my MBP.

    Also had no problems using SuperDuper! to my external HD and using Migration Assistant back to my internal.
     

Share This Page