new imac G5 and WoW

Discussion in 'Games' started by KSB, Oct 18, 2005.

  1. KSB macrumors newbie

    KSB

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2005
    #1
    hey peeps

    anyone tried running World of Warcraft on the net iMac's? they have improved graphics now and even a PCI-express slot :)

    your welcome to post your stats :D
     
  2. Jigglelicious macrumors 6502

    Jigglelicious

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2004
    Location:
    NYC
    #2
    I doubt it'll run all that much better than the previous generation of iMacs (Rev B)
     
  3. chaos86 macrumors 65816

    chaos86

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2003
    Location:
    127.0.0.1
  4. QCassidy352 macrumors G3

    QCassidy352

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2003
    Location:
    Bay Area
  5. Phatpat macrumors 6502a

    Phatpat

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2003
    Location:
    Washington DC
    #5
    I'll chime in with another mildly useless comment. I imagine it will run well. I play it on my first-gen g5 iMac, and it looks solid.

    Being "PCI-express" won't really make a difference, but a faster cpu and graphics chip will.
     
  6. Josh396 macrumors 65816

    Josh396

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2004
    Location:
    Peoria/Chicago, IL
    #6
    I heard the new GPU was roughly 50% faster. Can anyone confirm this? That seems a little on the high side to me but I certainly wouldn't complain if it was the case.
     
  7. dmw007 macrumors G4

    dmw007

    Joined:
    May 26, 2005
    Location:
    Working for MI-6
    #7
    Seems to be a bit much. But if that is the case, then it is probably due to the GPU (Radeon X600 pro/XT v. Radeon 9600), not the interface (PCI-Express v. AGP 8x).
     
  8. Sutekidane macrumors 6502a

    Sutekidane

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2005
    #8
    I'm also dying to see some benchmarks and internal pics. :)
     
  9. this is funah macrumors 6502

    this is funah

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2005
    Location:
    Berlin, Germany
    #9
    i have one and tested it with battlefield 1942 and call of duty. they run great but it still can get laggy very sparingly with the settings completely maxed out. i dont have enough experience with rating games because my best video card before this was a 16mb ATI Rage
     
  10. polyethyleneguy macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2005
    Location:
    Florida
    #10
    does WoW support the widescreens of the iMac or does it have black vertical bars on both sides?
     
  11. combatcolin macrumors 68020

    combatcolin

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2004
    Location:
    Northants, UK
    #11
    WOW is probably the most wodescreen friendly game there is.

    Which is why i spent £690 on a Dell 24".

    And, yes, it does look the dogs rude bits.
     

Share This Page