New iMac G5 DOA After Shipping by Apple: Now Need Some Advice!

Discussion in 'Buying Tips and Advice' started by Santeh, Nov 11, 2005.

  1. Santeh macrumors member

    Joined:
    May 7, 2005
    #1
    Hello All,

    I have, for quite some time, needed to purchase a new computer and have been interested in returning to the Apple world due to an interest in using OS X and not Windows. After months of watching Apple to see what new products were released, I then ended up deciding on the iMac G5 20", 2.1 GHz due to cost as well as that the computer came with the built in monitor and speakers (i.e. no need to invest in them).

    After the long wait and final decision I ordered the iMac and, with sadness, saw that it would take 2+ weeks to ship from China ( :eek: ). Nothing I could do so I waited. During the wait I started to read the reports, mainly through this newsgroup, about the problems in quality of the units, and even some suggesting that it was better to buy via the Apple store, and not online, due to easy of returning a problem machine. Yet by the time I found this out it was too late, so all I could do was hope that all would be okay with the machine I ordered.

    Finally the unit shipped and, to my surprise, took only a few days to get to me from China! Nice! :) When I got the unit home I opened it up, read the instructions (I actually did this!), and hooked up the unit including plugging it into my newly bought and fully charged APC UPS 750va power supply/surge protector.

    And... DOA... :mad: In this case DOA meant that the unit powered on and tried to install/go to the desktop but the machine would quickly hang and go into graphics problems. I thought it might be the 1 GB RAM addition I purchased (the only BTO option I had), and took a look. It appeared, although later discounted by the Apple store, that there had been damage with the installation of the card, and I could not reseat the card as the metal rings looked to be missing (I later was told they were folded too far back by Apple). After speaking to Apple on the phone, and then taking the unit to the Apple store for inspection, etc., it looks like a heat issue in that the unit appears to fail when it warms up.

    I cannot afford the 2+ week wait to have a replacement unit sent, thus after again speaking to Apple on the phone I am sending the unit back as a refund and I am going to buy its replacement in the Apple store so that I can easily return it if a problem develops.

    The problem now is that I am concerned about the heat related failure of this iMac G5 (I recall all the heat related problems in past Apple computers), as well as that a good number of the computers I saw being dealt with at the Genius Bar today were old and newer iMacs. As such I am thinking about upgrading to the Powermac Dual 2.3 GHz machine, yet I have some questions for everyone:

    1). Has anyone else had heat related issues, or something as serious, with their new iMac G5?

    2). Has anyone had any significant problems with their new dual Powermac G5?

    3). Has anyone had problems with their iMac G5 screens, especially in regards to failures that would require their computer being fixed? I must admit that, while looking at the iMac on my desk at home, it struck me that unlike other computers that have separate monitors/desktops, if the iMac screen goes down I may not be able to use my computer.

    4). Is the Powermac G5 worth the extra $500? I mainly use my machine for word/excel/powerpoint, internet, e-mail, etc.. However I am working on a graduate degree that may be using remote sensing and associated detailed images.

    5). Anything else that someone can think of to mention for the iMac G5 and Powermac G5?

    Thank you, all! I really appreciate everyone's time and help!

    Always,

    Sam
     
  2. MattG macrumors 68040

    MattG

    Joined:
    May 27, 2003
    Location:
    Fletcher, NC
    #2
    1). Has anyone else had heat related issues, or something as serious, with their new iMac G5?

    Nope, nothing serious. Mine runs 24x7 in a small room at work, where there isn't a whole lot of ventilation. Haven't had any problems.

    2). Has anyone had any significant problems with their new dual Powermac G5?

    I don't have a *new* one, it's a dual 1.8ghz. However, it's in the same unventilated room as the iMac, and it's never failed (had it for over two years now).

    3). Has anyone had problems with their iMac G5 screens, especially in regards to failures that would require their computer being fixed? I must admit that, while looking at the iMac on my desk at home, it struck me that unlike other computers that have separate monitors/desktops, if the iMac screen goes down I may not be able to use my computer.

    Haven't had problems with the screen. I don't think the iMac screen is any more prone to defects than any other model.

    4). Is the Powermac G5 worth the extra $500? I mainly use my machine for word/excel/powerpoint, internet, e-mail, etc.. However I am working on a graduate degree that may be using remote sensing and associated detailed images.

    I wouldn't worry about it. The iMac is a great space saver, is still very fast, and will be able to handle pretty much anything you throw at it.

    5). Anything else that someone can think of to mention for the iMac G5 and Powermac G5?

    I'd keep the iMac (get a replacement). Don't forget, you're going to see a lot more "my iMac has problems" posts than "my iMac works great" posts. Lots of people own these without any issue. Get the replacement and enjoy!
     
  3. tekmoe macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2005
    #3
    i love my powermac. i have not had a single problem with it during the 2+ weeks that i have owned it. buy one!
     
  4. FFTT macrumors 68030

    FFTT

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2004
    Location:
    A Stoned Throw From Ground Zero
    #4
    The new iMacs are a great value with plenty of processing power for the use you've indicated.

    Even so, if you can afford a new PowerMac and a good display, you'll probably be much happier in the long run.
     
  5. smwatson macrumors 6502a

    smwatson

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2005
    Location:
    London, England
    #5
    now im scared

    Ok so now im worried. I ordered a 20" with an extra 1GB RAM tat is estimated to be shipped by Novemeber 22:eek: anyway, if this guys is messed up BY APPLE surely its going to happen to other people:confused: So i was wondering if anyone else's BTO 20" has similar, if any problems. (sorry to hijack your thread)
     
  6. Santeh thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    May 7, 2005
    #6
    No worries! :) I think the issue is worth discussing by anyone who is about to put ~$2,000+ U.S. down on a computer...


    Thank you all for your comments. I did not see the thread from earlier this month regarding new iMac/shipping problems, yet my unit seems to have fallen in line with what some others have experienced (i.e. quality control problems, but not so much the specific heat problems which may have been a singular event with the unit I got). I agree, and hope, that we are hearing from the people with problem units and that there may be many more people happy with their new iMac's than unhappy.

    I am not sure yet what I will choose to do. I would still like to hear other's comments and concerns, yet at the moment I admit I am leaning towards the Powermac G5 (2.3 GHz) for, while it m ay be a bit of overkill for my current day-to-day use, it has room to grow and cover some possible later tasks like remotely sensed images of Earth and other planets and satellites. Also, I have no interest in buying a rev. A, and possibly even rev. B., MacTel as I would want to let the companies work out the bugs. Lastly, and I know this is silly so please forgive me, but after having a unit at my home I felt very uncomfortable with the integrated screen.

    Please, though, any comments, advice, and stories are appreciated!

    Always,

    Sam
     
  7. FFTT macrumors 68030

    FFTT

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2004
    Location:
    A Stoned Throw From Ground Zero
    #7
    If you can afford the G5 dual core 2.3, by all means it's a far better system
    both in processing speed and expandibility.

    I would plan on starting out with at least 1-2 GB DDR2 RAM purchased 3rd party.

    In previous dual PowerMacs you had to buy your RAM in pairs.
    I'm not sure if that still applies to the new models, but probably is still the case. So to add 1 extra GB, you'd have to buy 2X 512 DIMMS or to add
    2 extra GB, you'd have to buy 2X 1 GB DIMMS.

    You can find out easily by opening the case and looking at what Apple
    installed. If you buy the tower with the default 512 MB RAM, you'll
    probably see 2 X 256 DIMMs mounted on either side of the RAM slots.


    If you already have a good display great, if not the Apple 20" ACD or the Dell
    2405FPW 24" display would both be excellent choices.
     
  8. Santeh thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    May 7, 2005
    #8
    After speaking to the Aplpe store yesterday it is my understanding this is correct. For example I wanted to tun Tiger at 1.5 GB and was told that I could just buy an additional 1 GB kit as I did indeed need 2 512 MB modules in oder to get to 1.5 GB. I was told this would cost $100 from Apple, which was better than Crucial! :)




    Regretfully I have an old 17" CRT monitor and if I buy the Powermac it will be awhile before I can afford a new flat screen. Oh well. When I can afford a new monitor it will seem like second birthday! :D

    Always,

    Sam
     
  9. mduser63 macrumors 68040

    mduser63

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2004
    Location:
    Salt Lake City, UT
    #9
    I have a dual 1.8 GHz Power Mac G5 that is about 7 months old now. It's been great since the day I bought it. It has 2 GB of RAM, and that makes a HUGE difference. I can have Photoshop and Virtual PC running at the same time and everything is still snappy and responsive. On my PowerBook with 768 MB of RAM, running either one of those apps will cause other open apps to slow down noticeably.

    As an aside, I'd recommend buying from an Apple Store or authorized reseller as well. I have nothing against online stores, but personally I always make big purchases locally if possible. I do so for several reasons, but the biggest one is that if I have a problem I want to be able to deal with it locally instead of having to work over the phone and ship things cross-country.
     
  10. FFTT macrumors 68030

    FFTT

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2004
    Location:
    A Stoned Throw From Ground Zero
    #10
    Santeh,
    The Apple rep mis-quoted you on that price.

    I just pulled up the BTO configurations and he is quoting $100
    to add only 1 additional 512 MB DIMM for a total of 1 GB.

    They would remove the default 2 X 256 and install a total of 2X 512 for $100
    and that would delay your shipment as a BTO sale too.

    Their price to add an "additional" 1 GB to the default 512 is $200.00

    So you'd have their stock 2X 256 and 2 X 512 to get you to 1.5 GB.

    Screw that! Buy your RAM 3rd party.

    http://www.datamem.com/viewcat.asp_Q_C_E_1179

    You can buy 2 X 1GB DDR2 DIMMS at datamen for $198.00 or
    2 X 512 MB DIMMS for $98.00
     
  11. Santeh thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    May 7, 2005
    #11
    Hello!

    Thank you for the link, as well as the clarification on RAM memory prices. After looking at the prices I might opt for the I GB kit for $98 as this would give me a total of 1.5 GB without having to mess with the stock unit from the Apple store (I have given up on buying via the online store). From what I have read 1.5 GB RAM memory should be much more than what is needed for Tiger, etc., thus 2.5 GB total for $198 does not seem necessary. Plus since the Powermac has 8 memory bays (thus 4 sets of 2 RAM modules), I have plenty of room to add RAM later even if I go the 1.5 GB RAM now. Does this loko correct to you?

    Thanks again!

    Always,

    Sam
     
  12. FFTT macrumors 68030

    FFTT

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2004
    Location:
    A Stoned Throw From Ground Zero
    #12
    Datamem is a quality retailer and they guarantee their RAM lifetime.

    Even so, for peace of mind I would order by phone and ask for a clarification
    of the difference between the Apple RAM they list and the generic RAM
    in the link I sent you.

    I'm pretty confident that it's exactly the same RAM with different part #'s
     
  13. solvs macrumors 603

    solvs

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2002
    Location:
    LaLaLand, CA
    #13
    Sorry about the DOA. Hope I can help.

    1). I've had a new G5 iMac for a month now, and haven't any issues with it. Most people don't. You're only going to hear about the bad stuff on these kinds of boards because they are the people looking for help.

    2). Only that they were out. :p That's why I got the iMac. It was heavily discounted (previous gen) and too good of an offer to pass up. It can do almost anything a PowerMac can, albeit slower.

    3). The computer itself will go out or be outdated long before the monitor. If in the off chance it does, you can use the video out port with your own external monitor. It about $20.

    4). If you can afford it, the Powermac is faster. And you can upgrade a lot more (like having 2 hard drives), though almost anything you need can be added via external fw or usb. But it is going to take up a lot more room.

    5). It's just a matter of personal preference. I wanted a PowerMac, but I've been perfectly happy with my iMac. Video rendering is the only thing that seems slower.

    Get more RAM.
     

Share This Page