New Imac G5 freezes on screen saver

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by PieMac, Nov 30, 2005.

  1. PieMac macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2002
    #1
    I just bought the new 20" iMac G5 and so far love it. The only glitch that I've encountered is that it tends to freeze up once a day or so on the screen saver. The thing is that my other half and I share this machine and we each have our own desktop with fast user switching enabled.

    Here are some observations:

    1) It only freezes when one or more programs are left open on one or both of our desktops (this should not cause any problem per Apple support).

    2) It seems to only happen when the iMac is left on my partner's desktop-when left on mine it doesn't occur (at least not as of yet).

    3) I've repaired disk permissions while booting off of the install disk as well as run FSCK and verified the hard disk...everything checks out.

    4) I created a third user test desktop and migrated just some basic settings off of my partners desktop-just mail and safari settings- and it froze on that as well.

    I've never shared a computer so I am very inexperienced with the whole multiple user scenario. I guess the only thing left would be to archive and install and if that doesn't fix it, bite the bullet and do a clean install. Anybody have any other suggestions or experience this problem?
     
  2. Will Cheyney macrumors 6502a

    Will Cheyney

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2005
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    #2
    Sounds silly, but have you tried using a different screen saver?
     
  3. liketom macrumors 601

    liketom

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2004
    Location:
    Lincoln,UK
    #3
    which user is the admin account ? i bet it's yours

    i had this sort of problem on my old iBook - 2 users me as admin and itunes running on my mrs account and when her screen saver kicked in it froze ...sometimes

    after a while it went away but i think i tried repair permissions and even a re-install of the os
     
  4. Will Cheyney macrumors 6502a

    Will Cheyney

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2005
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    #4
    He said it's been happening across multiple accounts.
    PieMac, try creating a new account and not 'migrating' any settings... I could be one of these that is causing the problem.

    Start with a 'blank canvas' as it were, and see if it is still apparent. If it is, I'm guessing it's a messed up global system file as opposed to a corrupt user preference.
     
  5. PieMac thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2002
    #5
    Both accounts are set to admin and I have random screensaver checked so it varies.

    I will try another test account and just leave it be and see if it happens on it. Just wondering if I wound up doing an archive and install if this would be sufficient or if a clean install would be necessary..?
     

Share This Page