New imac, where is xcode?

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by cbrain, Dec 25, 2006.

  1. cbrain macrumors 65816

    cbrain

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2006
    Location:
    North-East, UK
    #1
    Hi there.

    I have just got my iMac today. would like to get started with xcode but I can't find it? I can't find interface builder either?

    Do I have to download these tools or are they on one of the install discs?

    Any help is much apreciated. ;)
     
  2. ChrisBrightwell macrumors 68020

    ChrisBrightwell

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2004
    Location:
    Huntsville, AL
    #2
    Did you search for it? There's usually an installer on the drive somewhere.
     
  3. mkrishnan Moderator emeritus

    mkrishnan

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2004
    Location:
    Grand Rapids, MI, USA
    #3
    If they're not on the drive, they're definitely on one of the install discs, although you might have to download a hefty update.... there should also be an entire developer tools installer package on the disc. It must be easy to find, because 99% of the people who come here trying to install X11 install the X11 SDK by accident instead, and it's in the same installer package, I think. :eek:

    I'm not 100% sure, but I think that dev tools package is on disc 1 and that XCode is on disc 2.
     
  4. cbrain thread starter macrumors 65816

    cbrain

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2006
    Location:
    North-East, UK
    #4
    I have installed all updates except EFI, I will try Disc 1 now.

    Thanks for your help!
     
  5. cbrain thread starter macrumors 65816

    cbrain

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2006
    Location:
    North-East, UK
    #5
    It's installed now, it was on Disc 1, thanks for all your help!
     
  6. mkrishnan Moderator emeritus

    mkrishnan

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2004
    Location:
    Grand Rapids, MI, USA
    #6
    Oh, I didn't immediately understand what you meant by this, but now I do. What I meant was that XCode itself has been updated somewhat recently (although I don't know how often they revise the masters for the install discs). So run Software Update again now that you have XCode installed; it may prompt you to do some more upgrading.
     
  7. cbrain thread starter macrumors 65816

    cbrain

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2006
    Location:
    North-East, UK
    #7
    I'm building a Hello World app at the moment so I'll have to look later.

    Quick question, where are button controls in interface builder so I can set prperties for my button?
     
  8. jsw Moderator emeritus

    jsw

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2004
    Location:
    Andover, MA
    #8
    I always seem to need to update manually - I wasn't aware that Software Update handled Xcode.
     
  9. cbrain thread starter macrumors 65816

    cbrain

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2006
    Location:
    North-East, UK
    #9
    I ran software update again ad I got two ecruity updates but they wern't for xcode.

    Anyway, do any of you know where button controls are in interface builder?
     
  10. jsw Moderator emeritus

    jsw

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2004
    Location:
    Andover, MA
    #10
    I'm not sure exactly what you mean, but opening it up on my MacBook (not my development system, so not often used by anyone but my wife), I can add a button, select it, then show the Inspector (Tools->Show Inspector) to set properties. I had to crop this so it'd upload, but you should get the gist of it:

    Buttons.png
     
  11. mkrishnan Moderator emeritus

    mkrishnan

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2004
    Location:
    Grand Rapids, MI, USA
    #11
    Weird, I know it used to do it for me. :( But I don't have XCode installed on either of my macs right now. :eek:
     

Share This Page