New In Software Update...

Discussion in 'macOS' started by CubaTBird, May 11, 2005.

  1. CubaTBird macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2004
    #1
    Is this new? What does it do?
     

    Attached Files:

  2. pdpfilms macrumors 68020

    pdpfilms

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2004
    Location:
    Vermontana
    #2
    (funny, i pressed the quit button in the update pane after i was done reading...)

    I've never heard of the intermediate codec....
     
  3. DXoverDY macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2005
    #3
    new with Tiger i would imagine. intermediate.. meaning maybe in between coreimage/corevideo and the codec?
     
  4. unfaded macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2002
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    #4
    Used in iMovie because working with HD is too resource intensive.
     
  5. puckhead193 macrumors G3

    puckhead193

    Joined:
    May 25, 2004
    Location:
    NY
    #5

    Psssssssst.... i did that to.... :eek: :rolleyes:
     
  6. Applespider macrumors G4

    Applespider

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2004
    Location:
    looking through rose-tinted spectacles...
    #6
    Me three... :eek:

    This isn't showing up on my software update (nothing has yet in Tiger) but I did find it on the Apple site along with this update for the Pro Apps

     
  7. ravenvii macrumors 604

    ravenvii

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2004
    Location:
    Melenkurion Skyweir
    #7
    Showed up in my Software Update (using Tiger) just fine. Installing it now.

    Now I REALLY wonder why iTunes 4.8 isn't showing up in Software Update?
     
  8. Rod Rod macrumors 68020

    Rod Rod

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2003
    Location:
    Las Vegas, NV
    #8
    Apple Intermediate Codec (AIC) is what HDV is transcoded to on-the-fly when importing into iMovie 5 and FCE 3 (iMovie HD and Final Cut Express HD).

    It's slightly bigger (file-size wise) than DV but it's a bit smaller (file-size wise) than DVCProHD. The resulting files are a little over 2x bigger than the native HDV that's on the tape.

    AIC is a compromise between bandwidth and quality.
     
  9. rendezvouscp macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2003
    Location:
    Long Beach, California
    #9
    Rod Rod, since you seem to know what you're talking about, why would they use something that's twice the file size than the original HDV? Is it due to HD requirements on processors?

    I installed it regardless, and am really curious why iTunes 4.8 hasn't shown up yet.
    -Chase
     
  10. clayj macrumors 604

    clayj

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2005
    Location:
    visiting from downstream
    #10
    Please, please be more descriptive in subject lines. "New In Software Update" could apply at any time. It's not much better than "Read Me". :)
     
  11. Rod Rod macrumors 68020

    Rod Rod

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2003
    Location:
    Las Vegas, NV
    #11
    It's because AIC is easier on the CPU than the native HDV (MPEG2 transport stream).

    For a parallel example, H.264 HD video will play back choppy on a 1GHz PowerBook. However, using QT Pro and exporting the file to DVCProHD will give you a file that plays back with no dropped frames. The file itself will be way bigger than what you started with, of course.

    FCP 5 has native HDV support but it requires some serious hardware for any sort of realtime effects in that codec - more so than DVCProHD (the Dynamic RT will help for lower-powered systems, of course).
     
  12. besler3035 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2004
    Location:
    Grand Rapids, MI
    #12
    A little off-topic, but where'd you get that desktop background? :D
     

Share This Page