New Intel PowerMacs quad-core? 2x4...or 8 cores total?

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by hh83917, Feb 10, 2006.

  1. Josh396 macrumors 65816

    Josh396

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2004
    Location:
    Peoria/Chicago, IL
    #2
    Imagine the performance of a 100 core chip.:eek: It's inevitable that quad cores will become common but I think it will be a little while before we see them in Powermacs. I think the cost would be to high considering most apps aren't ready for 4 processors yet.
     
  2. verb macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2004
    #3
    Better yet, a beowolf cluster of quad 100 core chip machines :eek: :eek: :eek:

    The quad, dual-core system I'm using now (I call it "Eight is Enough") is so fast I'm surfing Sunday's MacRumor's page. I don't want to give anything away, but it's is going to be a big day.
     
  3. p:ro macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2006
    #4
    Quad PowerPC G5 with 8 cores.........

    I got lost there bigtime! What were you trying to say ?

    a.) Powermac Quad has 8 cores ? - wrong
    b.) 8 cores per system is enough ? - ?

    Hope at least that if you really spent so much money on a Quad that you filled it up with Ram and a Ati X850 XT or nVidia 7800 GT... :cool: your browser loads even faster!

    Quad with 1 Gb & nVidia 6600 can't be enough!
     
  4. Chundles macrumors G4

    Chundles

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2005
    #5
    It's a joke Joyce.
     
  5. p:ro macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2006
    #6
    sarcasm

    I know that he was sarcastic, but I was sarcastic too.


    The Sony PS3 will have 8 cores...

    A fast Intel Quad

    Quad 64-bit Intel® Xeon® Processor 7040 at 3.0 GHz | 2x2MB L2 cache | 667FSB | Dual-Core

    Price for Processors upgrade ONLY!!! at Dell +CHF 31'470.00 (swissFrancs)

    Can't be much more expensive :cool: || I hope someone runs X-Bench on those systems...
     
  6. Mord macrumors G4

    Mord

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2003
    Location:
    UK
    #7
    the ps3 has one in order crummy ass powerpc core and 7 SPE's (one redundant) which are basically really wide altivec units, to say it's an 8 core cpu is akin to calling the G4 a tri core cpu (powerpc+ 2x altivec units)
     
  7. p:ro macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2006
    #8
    Core

    Yeah "8 Cores" is maybe the wrong term for 1 PowerPC Processing Element (PPE) and 7 The Synergistic Processing Element (SPE)... Nevertheless "Crummy Ass PowerPC with a bunch of altivecs ?" :cool:

    "the result is a processing core that operates at a high frequency with relatively low power consumption, and perhaps relatively poorer scalar performance compared to the beefy POWER5 processor core"

    CELL
    http://www.realworldtech.com/page.cfm?ArticleID=RWT021005084318&p=1

    dual quadcore & CELL |||||| 2 different philosophies

    quadcore chip - still don't know what price that chip will target ... holy cow
     
  8. jacobj macrumors 65816

    jacobj

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2003
    Location:
    Jersey
    #9
    Intel are pushing multi-core processors a lot at the moment and I believe Vista will support multi-cores, so the drive from these two big guys may well push developers down the same route... let's hope so...
     
  9. Catfish_Man macrumors 68030

    Catfish_Man

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2001
    Location:
    Portland, OR
    #10
    Um, Windows 2000 already supports multicore just fine. IIRC Win2k server supports up to 32 processors...
     

Share This Page