iPad New iPad 3 wont switch on

Discussion in 'iPad' started by hungledink, Nov 9, 2012.

  1. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 28, 2011
    #1
    I received my new iPad 3 today and have had nothing but trouble with it.

    After use, it frequently wont switch back on. Sometimes I can get it working by doing a reset, home and power buttons held for 10 seconds.

    Oher times even this doesnt work. If i then leave it for several minutes, and try a rest again it will come back on.

    Have I been given a faulty unit? Is there any way to check?

    I am currently doing a restore in itunes, hoping that will help.
     
  2. MRU
    macrumors demi-god

    MRU

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2005
    Location:
    Ireland
    #2
    Sounds banjaxed but do a restore if same thing happens after you will have to get it exchanged :(
     
  3. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2012
    #3
    Because apple don't want you to call you iPad 3 new, you will need to buy the iPad 3S if you want to call you iPad new.
     
  4. thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 28, 2011
    #4
    First restore didn't seem to work, ITune days its restored and will reboot. Never reboots, same thing second time round. Crapola
     
  5. macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2006
    #5
    I would have them replace it. It should not be doing this. Best of luck.
     
  6. macrumors 6502a

    Ih8reno

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2012
  7. thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 28, 2011
    #7
    Just for information purposes, when I try and do a power off on my iphone, hold power and home buttons till the red slider appears, the red slider doesnt appear, instead the phone just turns off. That happens on the iPad too, the slider doesnt appear but the iPad turns off.

    Is it possible my itunes is corrupt?
     
  8. thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 28, 2011
    #8
    Turns out i was holding both buttons in error, just the power button does the trick.

    iPad also SEEMS fine this morning. Weird technology
     
  9. macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    May 15, 2007
    #9
    You blame the hardware when it was operator error all along? Maybe it's you who's weird. :rolleyes:
     
  10. hungledink, Nov 10, 2012
    Last edited by a moderator: Nov 10, 2012

    thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 28, 2011
    #10
    No, I blame the hardware for only switching on when it feels like.
     
  11. macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    May 15, 2007
    #11
    And yet you wrote this:

    Nice try ! :p
     

Share This Page