New iPod Classic Firmware, 1.0.1

Discussion in 'iPod' started by floam, Sep 14, 2007.

  1. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2006
    #1
    There is new firmware available from inside iTunes. It just says there are "bug fixes".

    Subjectively, the menus feel like they are back to as fast as the 5G iPods were, but Coverflow still sucks.
     
  2. macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2007
    Location:
    San Francisco, CA
    #2
    Thanks for that! iTunes was set to check for an update tomorrow, I'm definitely hoping the menu is fixed and is just as fast as the 5G... Installing now.

    Update: The speed of the menu definitely feels on par with the 5G ipod, cover flow is still pretty sluggish.. but seems a lot better than before. Not entirely sure if it's the placebo affect though, I only used the ipod for about a good 15 minutes playing with the menu before I heard of the update.
     
  3. macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2007
    Location:
    Southern California
    #3
    Awesome thanks! Strange now when I sync it it has just a P in the title bar instead of iPod.
     
  4. macrumors 65816

    rychencop

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2007
    Location:
    http://www.northaugusta.net/
    #4
    I agree! Some of the lag in my Nano is no longer there, so I guess that was part of the fix.
     
  5. macrumors 6502a

    swwack91

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2007
    Location:
    New Jersey
    #5
    awesome! this makes me feel better. i'm planning on picking up a classic either tonight or next week so a simple patch actually helping the situation eases my concerns.
     
  6. macrumors 68020

    rockthecasbah

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2005
    Location:
    Moorestown, NJ
    #6
    I just installed it, It worked wonders. I had been having clickwheel responsiveness issues, it cleared that up completely. I agree also with the OP, the menus are snappier. Coverflow is better, however, and I wouldn't say it "sucks" at all. It runs much more smoothly, just you still need to wait a second sometimes if you scroll fast and album art hasn't loaded completely. It nevertheless works better than before the update...
     
  7. macrumors 6502a

    swwack91

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2007
    Location:
    New Jersey
  8. macrumors 6502a

    rockstarjoe

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2006
    Location:
    washington dc
    #8
    I just got my 160gb yesterday and I haven't yet installed this update, but thanks for the tip! Also, my ipod only has a "P" in the title bar too when it is syncing...

    EDIT- installed it. It fixed some problems I was having with my movies... previously the names of the movies did not correspond to the right file (i.e., selecting Zoolander played Anchorman). Glad Apple fixed these things so quickly!
     
  9. macrumors 6502a

    swwack91

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2007
    Location:
    New Jersey
    #9
    can one of you guys post a pic of the "P"?

    and is it only when syncing?
     
  10. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2007
    Location:
    Hertford, England
    #10
    accessing the list of playlists is so much more responsive :D must be caching them now :)
     
  11. macrumors 603

    netdog

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2006
    Location:
    London
  12. macrumors 6502a

    swwack91

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2007
    Location:
    New Jersey
    #12
    um, safari isn't on the classic...
     
  13. macrumors Penryn

    Eidorian

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Location:
    Indianapolis
    #13
    It's a MacRumors meme.
     
  14. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    May 13, 2007
    Location:
    England
    #14
    Cover Flow still lists by artist... I'd say that was a pretty major bug... Nano seems snappier though, scrolling though Album list especially
     
  15. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2007
    #15
    I actually prefer coverflow to list by artist, I wouldn't call that a bug. The menus seem more responsive though.
     
  16. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2007
    Location:
    Green Bay, WI
    #16
    I havn't used an iPod in years, last one was a Mini so I was unsure if this was how they are now. After getting this update last night my classic is so much more responsive and easier to use!!
     
  17. macrumors 65816

    Tom B.

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2006
    Location:
    London
    #17
    The charging screen has changed too.

    But I would still like an option to exclude certain album covers from the main menu.
     
  18. macrumors 6502a

    rockstarjoe

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2006
    Location:
    washington dc
    #18
    Here is the "P". Seems to happen when it is plugged in.

    Also they still haven't fixed the Compilation bug... compilation artists are still listed under Artists instead of being hidden like they were on previous models.
     

    Attached Files:

  19. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    May 13, 2007
    Location:
    England
    #19
    I meant compilations being split up in cover flow, by artist - instead of one album with "Various Artists" I have hundreds of the same album, but each with a different artist... Cover flow is essentially useless on the new iPods at the moment - that, is what I'd call a bug :eek:
     
  20. macrumors 6502a

    swwack91

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2007
    Location:
    New Jersey
    #20
    lol the "p" looks funny. i guess something was lost in translation and the i,o, & d got deleted.

    anyone up for firmware 1.0.1.1?
     
  21. macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2007
    Location:
    San Francisco, CA
    #21
    Mine doesn't seem to have that bug, where it just shows the P, maybe try a restore?
     
  22. macrumors 6502a

    rockstarjoe

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2006
    Location:
    washington dc
    #22
    I seem to have found an even bigger problem. I have my classic set to sync with a few playlists, but it is also syncing with a bunch of playlists that I haven't selected. Not the whole lists, though... it seems to be a random number of songs from each list! Bizzare. Anyone else notice this?
     
  23. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2007
    #23
    Oh I gotcha, yea that does need to be fixed!
     
  24. macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2006
    #24
    My 80 gb classic seems to have the same "p" when connected to my imac.
     
  25. macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2007
    Location:
    Southern California
    #25
    Haha yeah, actually sometimes when its syncing for me it does "iPod" other times it just does "P"
     

Share This Page