new ipod doesn't work

Discussion in 'iPod' started by ronjacobs, Feb 5, 2006.

  1. ronjacobs macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2006
    #1
    I just bought a new iPod (60GB) and plugged it into my iMac, which runs OS 10.3.9. The iPod just flashes a red circle with a diagonal slash through it and says "Do Not Disconnect." Meanwhile, iTunes does not indicate that anything is happening. There is no flashing orange light on my iTunes shuffle, which, I'm told, indicates things are working. There is absolutely no indication that anything is happening. What's up? Thanks.
     
  2. eva01 macrumors 601

    eva01

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2005
    Location:
    Gah! Plymouth
    #2
    when you open iTunes is it there?

    have you reset the iPod?

    why haven't you gone to the iPod 101 website for the love of god?

    have you checked disk utility?

    have you tried a different port?

    have you run the iPod software update?

    have you formatted your iPod?
     
  3. plinden macrumors 68040

    plinden

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2004
    #3
    What you need to do is follow the steps in the documentation exactly - it's been almost a year since I got my iPod, so I can't remember exactly what to do, but there should be a "getting started" chapter in the iPod documentation.

    Then, if your iTunes still doesn't notice the iPod, try the five steps laid out here: http://www.apple.com/support/ipod/
     
  4. ronjacobs thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2006
    #4
    The truth is, I don't know. I put in the CD, followed the instructions.

    Thanks for your prompt and detailed reply. I'll slink off to the iPod101 website. Sorry to hear about your continuing illness. I hope things start turning around for you.
     
  5. 2nyRiggz macrumors 603

    2nyRiggz

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2005
    Location:
    Thank you Jah...I'm so Blessed
    #5
    Is your ipod seen by your computer? try to reinstall the firmware.


    Bless
     
  6. Applespider macrumors G4

    Applespider

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2004
    Location:
    looking through rose-tinted spectacles...
    #6
    iTunes can only use one iPod at a time. If you're plugging in both at the same time, take one out!
     
  7. eva01 macrumors 601

    eva01

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2005
    Location:
    Gah! Plymouth
    #7

    what do you mean by use? I have two iPods in right now and can add music to both at the same time. But if you mean upgrade firmware then yes only one iPod at a time can be in use.
     
  8. Applespider macrumors G4

    Applespider

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2004
    Location:
    looking through rose-tinted spectacles...
    #8
    Interesting... last time I tried, it was either the Shuffle or the 4G iPod. Putting both in, it told me I could have one or other - and I wasn't upgrading firmware at the time.
     
  9. eva01 macrumors 601

    eva01

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2005
    Location:
    Gah! Plymouth
    #9
    maybe it is something with the shuffle, because i have a 3G and 4.5G iPod in right now.

    and if i go to iPod preferences i get a drop down for which iPod to change the options on
     
  10. doug.hall macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2005
    Location:
    London
    #10
    Don't know if this will help you but if I ever have problems with my mac recognising any device, ipod, camera or whatever the way I resolve it is to plug the devie in, turn it on and then reset the device with the device still connected. THen open the app such as itunes and it shod work ok. Good luck.
     
  11. Chundles macrumors G4

    Chundles

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2005
    #11
    I've had all three of mine (3G, mini, shuffle) plugged into my iBook at the same time.
     

Share This Page