New ipod touch, blue screen of death??

Discussion in 'iPod touch' started by ILBandit, Feb 16, 2009.

  1. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2008
    #1
    I'm trying to help out a friend,,, She just bought a new ipod touch. I walked her thru setting up itunes, and how to add music to the library. (doing this over internet chatting on IM)
    Everything went well, until she plugged the ipod into the computer to sync it, as soon as she plugs it in, the screen turns blue with a message saying something like- a problem has been detected and windows has been shut down to prevent damage to your computer. Then it said something about hardware vendors for product updates.
    I know this isnt alot of info, I'm trying to figure it out over IM's myself...
    Has anyone had a similar problem? Or have any idea what would cause this to happen?

    BTW.. She's got the latest version of Itunes, and running it on a Windows XP laptop.
     
  2. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2008
    Location:
    Coral Springs, FL
    #2
    sounds like a redundant RAM issue with the PC.
     
  3. macrumors 68040

    iParis

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2008
    Location:
    New Mexico
    #3
    LOLz. Yep, it's teh evil Blue Screen of Death.
    It might be to a random error in the registry, messed up ram configuration, or more ram was trying to be accessed then the computer has.
    Windows also just does that sometime.
     
  4. thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2008
    #4
    What do you mean? Not enough ram to run the driver?
    I think it's a new laptop, should be sufficient? Mine only has 1 gig, & it does fine. Or do you mean something completely different?
     
  5. thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2008
    #5
    Any work arounds, or fixes that can be done?
     
  6. macrumors 68040

    iParis

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2008
    Location:
    New Mexico
    #6
    Did she try booting up again?
    She should be able to boot up a second time.
    If this keeps happening or she can't boot up again she needs to reseat the ram.
     
  7. thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2008
    #7
    Ok, thanks. I'll have her try that tomorow. I read something about out of date drivers causing this also. So she's gonna get all that updated also.
    I'll dig back into it tomorrow night. Hopefully can get it working.
    Thanks for the fast replies! Gave me a place to start looking.
     
  8. macrumors 68040

    iParis

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2008
    Location:
    New Mexico
    #8
    No problem, ya... it may be out of date drives or something like that.
    Tell her that right when she gets it booted up to run the Windows update.
     

Share This Page