New iSight with new Codec?

Discussion in 'Buying Tips, Advice and Discussion (archive)' started by aswitcher, Jan 19, 2005.

  1. aswitcher macrumors 603

    aswitcher

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2003
    Location:
    Canberra OZ
    #1
    So I am thinking about getting an iSight in the next month or two BUT I suspect that with the new Codec 264 iirc, we might see a second generation iSight...maybe even an HD one...? What do people think?
     
  2. jadam macrumors 6502a

    jadam

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2002
    #2
    No, the iSight doesnt do any video encoding it sends raw data to the mac and it does all the video encoding.
     
  3. aswitcher thread starter macrumors 603

    aswitcher

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2003
    Location:
    Canberra OZ
    #3

    So you could use it to record HD then?
     
  4. MacUser1 macrumors 6502

    MacUser1

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2001
    Location:
    CT
    #4
    i'm no expert, but i would highly doubt that you could record HD video with an iSight. you'd need a special camcorder, like the Sony one on stage at Macworld.

    as for iSight updates, i've also been holding out. it always seems when i'm ready to make a purchase, i decide to go with something different (and perhaps more useful in the short-term...iPod shuffles and AirPort Expresses). nevertheless, i don't think that they'll be any updates soon, and i just might have to go out and splurge on two of them :)
     
  5. logical001 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2005
    #5
    As stated, the iSight camera just sends raw data at Firewire 400 to the Mac.

    What they will be doing in Tiger is changing the codec to the super efficient HD based when Tiger comes out.

    They are very good by the way. Quality is much better than anything on a PC, especially the audio.
     
  6. aswitcher thread starter macrumors 603

    aswitcher

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2003
    Location:
    Canberra OZ
    #6

    I guess it comes down to the actual chip and capture resolution on the iSight then...
     
  7. bpd115 macrumors 6502a

    bpd115

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2003
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
  8. wwooden macrumors 68000

    wwooden

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2004
    Location:
    Burlington, VT
    #8
    The new codec will just allow for even smoother video conferencing with other people. If you ever just look at the video from the iSight on your own computer, it is very smooth and crisp. It will probably get much closer to this when Tiger and the new iChat are released.
    I doubt they will update the iSight for a while, it is still better then anything else out there.
     
  9. bigandy macrumors G3

    bigandy

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2004
    Location:
    Murka
    #9
    my bet is it'll be a firmware update if anything.

    it's good enough already. boosting the resolution of the CCD wouldn't be a bad idea, maybe to megapixel.
     
  10. aswitcher thread starter macrumors 603

    aswitcher

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2003
    Location:
    Canberra OZ
    #10
    I suppose thats what I am wondeirng. If its only a 1/4 of a megapixel now then given camera phone developments I am hoping that they can improve its resolution for little change in price. Bigger CCD means better low light and better resolution, possibly a wide angle option as well for group conferencing.

    But what occurs to me is if they put it too ~2 megapixels (1920x1080) they would have an HD capable iSight which could work really well with their new codec and leap them well ahead of the competition. 2005 is the year of HD afterall.
     
  11. daveL macrumors 68020

    daveL

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2003
    Location:
    Montana
    #11
    HD

    HD video conferencing? Why? For the same PQ you'll need 6 times (2 megapixels) the bandwidth that the current iSight would use. Being able to support more than 2 parties in a conference seems more of a priority, to me.
     
  12. crazzyeddie macrumors 68030

    crazzyeddie

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2002
    Location:
    Florida, USA
    #12
    If you really wanted to do HD video conferencing, you could just write your own app that uses quicktime to send video using any codec you wanted to (CPU power allowing) at any resolution (bandwidth allowing).
     
  13. aswitcher thread starter macrumors 603

    aswitcher

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2003
    Location:
    Canberra OZ
    #13
    In 10 years everyone will be using HD level video conferencing...or better. If we can do it now, then why not if you have the bandwidth.

    As to why, better images make for a better experience.
     
  14. atomiton macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2004
    #14
    HD V-Conf is hardly a priority. Better to get a reliable 45-50fps 640-480 connection.

    just think, you'll have to spend half an hour in the bathroom before making a phone call. ;)
     
  15. aswitcher thread starter macrumors 603

    aswitcher

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2003
    Location:
    Canberra OZ
    #15

    So will the new codec likely advance the frame rate given its more effecient use of bandwidth?
     

Share This Page