New Life to Beige G3

Discussion in 'PowerPC Macs' started by roundthecircle, May 28, 2013.

  1. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 28, 2013
    Location:
    Atlanta, GA
    #1
    Greetings all, happy to be back. I have been reading for a long time but my old account was associated with my Juno email, who uses that anymore? Needless to say, I created a new one to post!

    Anyhow, I have a functional beige G3 in great shape. G3 233 with the original 32mb of RAM and very little yellowing. I'm undecided on what to do with it, I think it might be powerful enough to host maybe an apache setup or postfix but I also know it will run OS X if upgraded.

    I am the family geek and have a cisco small business router with PTP vpn to my fathers and sisters to host files and so that i can remote desktop to them if needed. I think it would be neat to build a website as well for the family.

    What is the best use for this machine folks? I also have a display, two now. I don't know the model, it has the speakers to each side of the display and the door to the bottom but is slightly more yellowed.

    Regards,

    M
     
  2. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 5, 2013
    Location:
    Phoenix
    #2
    I would use it for classic games, escape velocity and warcraft 2 :) I love those beige g3's do you have the desktop or the mini tower??

    Sent from my Lumia using Board Express
     
  3. Lil Chillbil, May 28, 2013
    Last edited: May 29, 2013

    macrumors 65816

    Lil Chillbil

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2012
    Location:
    California
    #3
    I am assuming that this is an all in one molar I think they are called correct me if I am wrong.


    I believe that the max ram for this machine is 768mb which I don't even think that a beige can really use all of that much ram
     
  4. macrumors 68040

    666sheep

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2009
    Location:
    Poland
    #4
    You believe too much instead of knowing.
    768 is max for Beige.
     
  5. macrumors 65816

    Lil Chillbil

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2012
    Location:
    California
    #5
    Thankyou for correcting me, I haven't seen these things in person nor cared much about them to study up on specs and that
     
  6. macrumors 68000

    Goftrey

    Joined:
    May 20, 2011
    Location:
    Wales, UK
    #6
    So why post information that you know you're not 100% on?
     
  7. macrumors 65816

    Lil Chillbil

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2012
    Location:
    California
    #7
    several reasons


    #1 because I felt like it
    #2 because I was pretty damn sure it wouldn't hurt nothing if I was wrong
    #3 I am also pretty damn sure that nobody even takes me seriously anymore after the zen.state war of 012.
     
  8. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2011
    #8
    You can usually get OS X up to 10.4 Tiger running on these quite easily, though you'll want the full 768 MB memory and a reasonable graphics card like a Radeon as the built-in graphics on them is useless for OS X. A reasonably new hard drive will also increase performance as it will be a lot faster than the original one which will be 15+ years old now.

    If you drop in a G4 processor (500 MHz and 1 GHz Sonnet ones are available) you can also run 10.5 Leopard on them though it's a bit of work to get it running.

    Alternatively they make a good OS 9.2 machine if you've already got other machines for OS X. Or you can try out interesting operating systems like OS X Server 1.0/1.2 and the OS X DPs/Public Beta as they are all compatible with this machine.

    Your display sounds like one of the old Apple CRTs - you can also use a modern "PC" LCD with them with the right adapter for the built-in graphics, or directly if you get a Radeon as they a VGA port.
     

Share This Page