New Mac Mini w Fusion shows only 13G available? Help

Discussion in 'Mac mini' started by timberg, Nov 9, 2012.

  1. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2012
    #1
    New Mac Mini arrived today, I've been setting up, and have only added one or two apps (MS Office, etc). I tried transferring my iPhoto library and it said insufficient memory. The finder only shows about 13 G as available.

    Any idea what's happening? Its the mid model, i7 w/ the new Fusion Drive. Should be way more space available. Is it a setting or something?

    Thanks!
     
  2. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2012
    #2
    How large is your iPhoto library? Do a "get info" on it, <cmd+i>.
     
  3. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2010
    #3
    http://forums.macrumors.com/showthread.php?t=1485080
     
  4. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    May 18, 2010
    #4
    Take a look how big your "fusion harddisk drive" is and take a look at what for sort of files are taking al the space up.

    I think your hdd is "broken" somehow.
     
  5. thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2012
    #5
    90 mins on phone with Apple. Attempted to repair, rebuild, partition. They pronounced it DOA so off to exchange tomorrow.
     
  6. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2012
    #6
    Hmmm...after well over 90 minutes with two separate 2nd level technical support staff, my same issue was kicked to engineering - which takes a while as you don't get to talk with them directly and they don't work weekends. I was told that engineering had to pronounce it DOA before I could exchange.

    Did you have to jump through that hoop?
     
  7. macrumors 603

    philipma1957

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2010
    #7
    so at least 2 fusion failures.

    52 blackout screens. I am one

    failed cpu test . thats me

    possible fail in prime95 test. also me


    so these mid model and server model minis are not so good so far.


    but to be fair a site like this will gather complaints.

    this is not as bad as the yellow 27 inch iMac screens were in 2009
     
  8. macrumors 65816

    dasx

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2012
    Location:
    Barcelona
    #8
    What error do you get in prime?
     
  9. macrumors 603

    philipma1957

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2010
    #9
    rounding. on 3 of 8 cores and then on 4 of 8 cores
     
  10. macrumors 65816

    dasx

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2012
    Location:
    Barcelona
    #10
    Temps over normal? Is the RAM being testes too? How long did it take to show errors?
     
  11. philipma1957, Nov 11, 2012
    Last edited: Nov 11, 2012

    macrumors 603

    philipma1957

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2010
    #11
    no I had the mini on its side with fans temps around 199 as a max look at the time on the first screen it is 1:53 max temp is 199 F that is about 20 F under max temp.

    on the second shot look at the core 7 error it came at the 1:22 mark or in military time 13:22.

    the error came in 25 minutes.

    i did a second test with the stock 4gb ram results were worse 4 bad cores. in under 20 minutes. 2 new test today one with 8 cores second with 2 cores . both fail in minutes = cpu is bad


    one last test with 1 worker = instant error.
     

    Attached Files:

  12. macrumors 65816

    dasx

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2012
    Location:
    Barcelona
    #12
    Indeed it is. :eek:

    I wonder how has one to address this with Apple. Do they accept Prime95 as a prove? Will you call them on monday or something?
     
  13. philipma1957, Nov 11, 2012
    Last edited: Nov 11, 2012

    macrumors 603

    philipma1957

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2010
    #13
    I am bringing it to the apple store I have an appointment . I am a bit annoyed as this was purchased from jr.com not apple so getting a swap may be hard to do.

    just for comparison here is a day long test with my 2010 2.4 c2d mini no errors 20 hours long and not hot cpus both at 100%
     

    Attached Files:

  14. macrumors 65816

    dasx

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2012
    Location:
    Barcelona
    #14
    Good luck man. And keep us posted!
     
  15. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    May 18, 2010
    #15
    Well, are it always the same cores who are failing?

    Maybe you have one defective ram slot. You could test it with one ram slot and the other empty. Then swap then and test again. Since you didn't use memtest86+ You have not tested about 2GB.

    And your 2010 Mac Mini also run a lot cooler.
     
  16. macrumors 603

    philipma1957

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2010
    #16
    finally got memtest86+ to run on the quad. thank you for pushing it.

    here is an eight hour test on the stock ram with the quad

    http://forums.macrumors.com/showthread.php?t=1488392

    the stock ram passes. so both slots and both sticks are good.


    when I ran prime95 with this ram and this cpu 4 of the 8 cores got rounding errors.

    so Most likely the cpu or mobo are bad.

    I rma'd it and I am awaiting a return.
     

Share This Page