New Mac Owner

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by DJAKO, Oct 29, 2006.

  1. DJAKO macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2006
    Location:
    Michigan
    #1
    Just got one of the new C2D Macbook Pros and i'm a first time user.

    Any suggestions on a good instant messanging program for AIM for the mac. Not sure if I like iChat too much.
     
  2. WildCowboy Administrator/Editor

    WildCowboy

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2005
    #2
    What don't you like about iChat?

    Maybe give Adium a shot.
     
  3. DJAKO thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2006
    Location:
    Michigan
    #3
    iChat only lists the contacts as online / idle / offline.

    It's not like AIM where you can have groups etc. Or maybe I'm missing something.

    Quick question for an external monitor. How do I setup my mac, so when I close the lid it will display the screen on my other monitor. I have everything setup, so I can have an extended monitor and mirror each other. I just can't figure out how to have it show up on the external monitor when I close my mac.

    Thanks
     
  4. DJAKO thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2006
    Location:
    Michigan
    #4
    guess i was wrong about ichat, figured out how to do what i wanted. Still not sure about my monitor question though.
     
  5. WildCowboy Administrator/Editor

    WildCowboy

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2005
    #5
    Here are Apple's instructions.
     
  6. radiantm3 macrumors 65816

    radiantm3

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2005
    Location:
    San Jose, CA
    #6
    Closed-lid mode requires that your macbook is plugged-in to power. Just close it, and wake it from sleep with the mouse that's plugged in.
     
  7. DJAKO thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2006
    Location:
    Michigan
    #7
    What's the best way to move over all of my iTunes song from my Windows PC to my mac?
     
  8. WildCowboy Administrator/Editor

    WildCowboy

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2005
    #8
    Can you just transfer the files over a network? Do you have an iPod big enough to use for transfer? Or is your library small enough that it's reasonable to burn to DVDs using the new backup function in iTunes 7?

    Here are a couple of suggestions.
     
  9. DJAKO thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2006
    Location:
    Michigan
    #9
    Should word documents from windows open in mac if I have microsoft office installed on both of them? Because it didn't work for me.
     
  10. dpaanlka macrumors 601

    dpaanlka

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2004
    Location:
    Illinois
    #10
    Yes. What about it didn't work?
     
  11. DJAKO thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2006
    Location:
    Michigan
    #11
    Word cannot open this document. The doucment might be in use or might not be a valid Word document.
    (e.doc)
     
  12. dpaanlka macrumors 601

    dpaanlka

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2004
    Location:
    Illinois
    #12
    If you wouldn't mind, try posting it here so we can see if we can open it.
     
  13. DJAKO thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2006
    Location:
    Michigan
    #13
    File attached.
     

    Attached Files:

    • e.doc
      File size:
      12.3 KB
      Views:
      48
  14. Killyp macrumors 68040

    Killyp

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2006
    #14
    It won't open in Word or Pages for me. It must be corrupt... :(
     
  15. DJAKO thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2006
    Location:
    Michigan
    #15
    ya, it's weird. It's a file I created on windows using word, then just downloaded it to my mac.

    Offtopic, is there a dropdown menu in safari like IE or Firefox to see your recent sites you typed into the browser?
     
  16. bowens macrumors 6502a

    bowens

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2006
    Location:
    Trenton, FL
  17. dpaanlka macrumors 601

    dpaanlka

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2004
    Location:
    Illinois
  18. DJAKO thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2006
    Location:
    Michigan
    #18
    I just reuploaded it and downloaded it and it worked fine. Maybe it was corrupted before as said above.

    Any solution to my safari quesion above?
     
  19. dpaanlka macrumors 601

    dpaanlka

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2004
    Location:
    Illinois
    #19
    Yes, just type the first letter of a site.
     
  20. DJAKO thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2006
    Location:
    Michigan
    #20
    I meant like a dropdown though, of all the recent sites.
     
  21. dpaanlka macrumors 601

    dpaanlka

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2004
    Location:
    Illinois
    #21
    Aside from the history menu of sites you recently visited... not that I'm aware of.
     
  22. kamonbishop macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2006
    #22
    If stuff like that happens again, and you cant open it at all, just open it up in notepad, or the Mac equivalent, and you should be able to pick out bits and pieces of the corrupted file...

    i had to do it once, it takes forever, but its better than not being able to do anything.
     
  23. MacBoobsPro macrumors 603

    MacBoobsPro

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2006
    #23
    You mean a history?

    Try er... History :D

    Top of he screen, fifth menu along.
     
  24. ingenious macrumors 65832

    ingenious

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2004
    Location:
    Virginia, United States (Kansan in exile)
    #24
    What about the AOL AIM client?
     
  25. dpaanlka macrumors 601

    dpaanlka

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2004
    Location:
    Illinois
    #25
    You do not want the Mac version of the official AIM client. That hasn't been updated since, like, iChat came out. In fact, I think the whole point of iChat was to replace the AIM client.
     

Share This Page